Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Nuremberg Trials Collection at Harvard Law School

This guide is intended to help use the Nuremberg Trials Digitization Project website

Related collections at the Harvard Law School Library and Harvard University

 

The Library has many personal materials donated by participants of the trials, including:
 
  • Trial briefs and notes
  • Photographs
  • Memoranda
  • Newspaper clippings
  • Correspondence
  • Other related materials

 

Digitized collections:

Ralph Gerhart Albrecht's notebook containing notes taken during the trials.

Leo Alexander Papers: Papers relating to the life of Leo Alexander including documents from his involvement in the Nuremberg Doctors' Trial in Nuremberg, Germany (1946-1947).

Benjamin Kaplan Papers: Papers related to Benjamin Kaplan's career with the US Army and military documents related to his work on the Nuremberg indictments.

Joseph Berry Keenan papers: The Joseph Berry Keenan Papers (1942-1947) consists of personal and business correspondence, documents, and memos, as well as newspaper clippings and photographs. The bulk of the papers concern Keenan's work as Chief Counsel in the International Prosecution Section (IPS) of the Supreme Commander for the Allied Powers (SCAP) for the Japanese War Crime Trials following World War II.

Drexel A. Sprecher Research Materials for Inside the Nuremberg Trial: A Prosecutor's Comprehensive Account: Contains materials relating to Sprecher’s book entitled, Inside the Nuremberg Trial: A Prosecutor’s Comprehensive Account.

Telford Taylor's Outline of the research and publication possibilities of the war crimes trials. Taylor served as Counsel for the Prosecution at the Nuremberg Trials.

Leonard Wheeler, Jr. Papers relating to the Nuremberg Trials: Papers collected by Leonard Wheeler, Jr. during and after the Nuremberg trials, including briefs, memoranda, evidence, reports, correspondence and newspaper clippings from 1945-1947.

Belle Mayer Zeck papers: Papers relating to the life of Belle Mayer Zeck including documents from her involvement in the trial of I.G. Farben at Nuremberg (1946-1948).

Digitized Photograph Collections:

Included in the Nuremberg Trials Project website are two separate photograph collections. Detailed catalog information beyond what is available on the Nuremberg website can be found by searching these photographs in HOLLIS Images.

The Nuremberg Trial photograph collection: This collection consists of 60 photographs, dating between 1945 and 1946 taken by the United States Army Signal Corps.

Office of the United States Government for Germany (OMGUS) Military Tribunal Case Three photograph collection: This collection consists of 159 photographs taken during the proceedings of NMT 3 (U.S.A. v. Josef Altstoetter et al.). The photographs date between 1946 and 1948 and were taken by the United States Army Office of the Chief of Counsel for War Crimes. This collection was a gift of Christopher Kintner in 1998. Kintner's father, Earl W. Kintner, served as U.S. Deputy Commissioner under Lord Wright of Durley, Chairman of the United Nations War Crimes Commission, from 1946-1948. His mother, Pat Kintner, was personal assistant and secretary to Lord Wright.

Additional collections at the Harvard Law School Library:

Ingeborg Kalnoky collection of Nuremberg Guest House papers: Ingeborg Kalnoky oversaw a guest house established to provide accommodations for witnesses involved in the Nuremberg Trials. The material includes correspondence she received from witnesses, U.S. Army documents, articles and several photos.

Joseph M. Stone photographs and memoranda: Photographs, memoranda and books relating to Joseph M. Stone's work as a lawyer during the Nuremberg Trials