Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Nuremberg Trials Collection at Harvard Law School

This guide is intended to help use the Nuremberg Trials Digitization Project website

How to use and cite photograph collections

Included in the Nuremberg Trials Project website are two separate photograph collections. Detailed catalog information beyond what is available on the Nuremberg website can be found by searching these photographs in HOLLIS Images.

Nuremberg Trial photograph collection

This collection consists of 60 photographs, dating between 1945 and 1946 taken by the United States Army Signal Corps.

Office of the United States Government for Germany (OMGUS) Military Tribunal Case Three photograph collection

This collection consists of 159 photographs taken during the proceedings of NMT 3 (U.S.A. v. Josef Altstoetter et al.). The photographs date between 1946 and 1948 and were taken by the United States Army Office of the Chief of Counsel for War Crimes. This collection was a gift of Christopher Kintner in 1998. Kintner's father, Earl W. Kintner, served as U.S. Deputy Commissioner under Lord Wright of Durley, Chairman of the United Nations War Crimes Commission, from 1946-1948. His mother, Pat Kintner, was personal assistant and secretary to Lord Wright.

 

The following is a guidelines for the type of information you should include when citing from the Nuremberg Trials Project photographs. Format may vary depending on style guide or style manual

A photograph from the Nuremberg Trial photograph collection or the Office of the United States Government for Germany (OMGUS) Military Tribunal Case Three photograph collection

Detailed catalog information beyond what is available on the Nuremberg website can be found by searching these photographs in HOLLIS Images.

Title of photograph, photographer, date, HOLLIS number, Harvard Law School Library, Historical & Special Collections

Example:

Sir David Maxwell Fyfe and Justice Robert H. Jackson, by United States Army Signal Corps, 12 November 1945, HOLLIS olvwork373963, Harvard Law School Library, Historical & Special Collections

 

Permission to Publish

These images are in the public domain. The Harvard Law School Library does not require permission to publish material from the Nuremberg Trials Project. As a courtesy to the Harvard Law School Library and to allow others to identify and locate material in the collection, we ask that in addition to a full citation, the following credit is used:

Harvard Law School Library, Historical & Special Collections