Includes locations of call numbers, location of country materials, etc.. Note that most of our collection is stored offsite, so check locations in Hollis or contact http://asklib.law.harvard.edu to see how an item is available.
The Library of Congress serves as the research arm of the United States Congress. It is also the largest library in the world, with nearly 128 million items on approximately 530 miles of bookshelves. The collections include more than 29 million books and other printed materials, 2.7 million recordings, 12 million photographs, 4.8 million maps, and 57 million manuscripts.
The Catalog of U.S. Government Publications (CGP) is a finding tool for both historical and current Federal publications. CGP includes descriptive records and provides direct links to those that are available online. Search by authoring agency, title, subject and general keyword. See also Monthly Catalog of U.S. Government Publications.
Access via HarvardKey
Also available for free at Worldcat.org. Use WorldCat to locate the books and other materials from over 12,000 libraries worldwide
international consortium of university, college, and independent research libraries, mostly in the United States but including some libraries from other countries. See membership list.
The Karlsruhe Virtual Catalog allows you to search simultaneously the holdings of many major libraries in Germany, Austria, Switzerland, France, Spain, and the UK; it functions then as a sort of European Union Catalog, and a counterpart to the mainly US/Canadian WorldCat database in the e-resources list. Individual library catalogs may also be searched singly; their availability and coverage of older materials varies. In addition, KVK provides access to the German Union Catalog of Serials and to German book trade catalogs, including German Books in Print.
National libraries usually attempt to serve as the library of record or a reposity for a country. National bibliographies are lists of the publishing output for individual countries.
Access via HarvardKey
LawTRIO is a fully-searchable database indexing legal titles drawn from Legal Looseleafs in Print, Legal Newsletters in Print and the Directory of Law-Related CD-ROMs. Access is controlled by HLS IP address and is limited to the Harvard Law School community. Off-campus access is controlled by HarvardKey.
Access via HarvardKey
Offers relevant information on sources of foreign law, including complete bibliographic citations to legislation, the existence of English translations and selected references to secondary sources.
Access via HarvardKey
An authoritative guide to the current scholarship, written and reviewed by academic experts, with original commentary and annotations.Expert scholars share the trusted sources they use across a variety of academic disciplines. Sources are rigorously peer reviewed and vetted to ensure scholarly accuracy and objectivity. The interface guides users directly to the information, providing personalized citation lists and seamless links to full-text print and online content.
Access via HarvardKey
Provides citations and major research library holdings data on all print materials published in the United States and the British Empire from 1801 to 1919, all books in English, wherever published, during that same time, as well as translations from English. The 1.2 million records in the database are drawn from eight copyright and research libraries.
Access via HarvardKey
The English Short Title Catalogue contains records for works printed in any language in England or its dependencies from the beginning of printing through the end of the eighteenth century, as well as works printed in English anywhere else in the world during that period. Subject headings appear in records for items published in 1700 or earlier.
OAIster is a union catalog of millions of records representing open access resources that was built by harvesting from open access collections worldwide using the Open Archives Initiative Protocol for Metadata Harvesting (OAI-PMH). Today, OAIster includes more than 25 million records representing digital resources from more than 1,100 contributors. Records in OAIster are being transitioned into WorldCat.
HathiTrust Digital Library is a shared repository of works digitized by more than 50 research library members. The catalog provides information about more than 5 million books and journals and is growing daily. More than 2.5 million titles are in the public domain so may be viewed in full text
"DOAB is a community-driven discovery service that indexes and provides access to scholarly, peer-reviewed open access books and helps users to find trusted open access book publishers. "
Access via HarvardKey
Directory of primary source material from repositories and collections in the United States, the United Kingdom and Ireland. Features the entire collection of the National Union Catalog of Manuscript Collections (NUCMC) from 1959 to the present, and names and detailed subject indexing of collections whose finding aids have been published in National Inventory of Documentary Sources in the United States (NIDS) and National Inventory of Documentary Sources in the United Kingdom and Ireland (NIDS UK/Ireland). Records include descriptions of holdings, detailed indexes, phone and fax numbers, hours of service, materials solicited, email and home page URLs when available.
Access via HarvardKey
Provides access to primary source, cross-searchable, full-text, full-image documents on widely studied topics in 19th and 20th-century American history. Content is applicable to research in history, African American studies, women's studies, political science, social sciences, sociology, and international studies.