Skip to main content

Drug and Pharmacology Resources

Resources for all health sciences practitioners and researchers

Drug and Pharmacology Databases

Micromedex (HARVARD LOGIN) is the "gold standard" for drug information. In-depth detailed monographs, drug consults addressing clinical issues, toxicology and teratology information are among its many strengths. An excellent source for foreign drug information, toxicology, clinical pharmacy consults. Available for mobile download. Search functionality includes:

  • Drug Interactions
  • IV Compatibility
  • Drug Identification by Imprint Code
  • Drug Comparison
  • Neonatal and Pediatric Drug Monographs
  • RED BOOK

Natural Medicines Database Logo

Natural Medicines (HARVARD LOGIN) is the most authoritative resource available on dietary supplements, natural medicines, and complementary alternative and integrative therapies.  Includes over 1400 natural medicine monographs and evidence-based ratings for nearly 200,000 commercial brand products. Search functionality includes:

  • Interaction checker
  • Effectiveness checker
  • Nutrient Depletion
  • Pregnancy & Lactation warnings
  • Adverse Effects

 

Additional Databases with Pharmacology and Drug Information

Harvard Full-Text Subscription Databases

  • EMBASE   (Harvard Login) EMBASE has much more detailed indexing of drug related topics than PubMed. Features include a special Drug Search interface with pull down menus of subheadings. Subheadings offer choices of 47 routes of drug administration as well as "drug comparison", "drug dosage" and "adverse drug reaction".
  • Dynamed (Harvard Login) offers a wealth of drug dosing calculators and nomograms.
  • PubMed contains over 30 million biomedical citations.

Freely Available Databases

  • Drug Information Portal provides users a gateway to selected drug information from the U.S. National Library of Medicine and other key U.S. Government agencies.
  • U.S. Food and Drug Administration Drug Databases, including:
  • LactMed contains information on drugs and other chemicals to which breastfeeding mothers may be exposed.  Suggested therapeutic alternatives to those drugs are provided, where appropriate.  Newly formatted in the NCBI Bookshelf.
  • PharmGKB (Pharmacogenomics Knowledge Base) encompasses clinical information including clinical guidelines and drug labels, potentially clinically actionable gene-drug associations and genotype-phenotype relationships. 

Additional Databases Not Available via Countway

  • IPA (International Pharmaceutical Abstracts)  Since pharmacognosy, the discovery of new medicines from nature, has long been a discipline within the field of pharmacy this database of the international pharmacy literature is an important resource. Available at the Massachusetts College of Pharmacy libraries.

Report an Adverse Drug Event - Read the Latest Warnings - Learn about Drug Safety Issues

         Countway Three Shield Logo   

Countway Library
10 Shattuck St, Boston MA 02115 | (617) 432-2136

Harvard Library | Privacy Policy | Harvard Digital Accessibility Policy
Copyright © 2020 President and Fellows of Harvard College. All rights reserved.