Databases for Journal Articles and Essays
HOLLIS
Searching in the Catalog & Articles mode will bring up articles, both academic and non-scholarly. If you wish, you can limit your search results to peer-reviewed articles, and refine them further by language, publication date, subject, etc.
America: History and Life
The primary bibliographic reference to the history of the United States and Canada from prehistory to the present, covering over 2,000 journals published worldwide. In addition to articles, the database includes essays in edited volumes, book reviews, and citations to dissertations.
Historical Abstracts
Covering the history of the world since 1450 (except North America), this database provides abstracts for scholarly articles from nearly 2,000 historical journals, as well as books, book chapters, and dissertations. Many articles are available in full text.
Military & Government Collection
This database lists articles from academic journals and Armed Forces publications on military and political history and theory.
Worldwide Political Science Abstracts
Provides citations and abstracts of journal articles, books, book chapters, dissertations and working papers in the fields of political science and international relations.
MLA (Modern Language Association) Bibliography
This is the standard database for scholarly research on literature, with references to articles in over 3,000 literature journals and books of collected essays from 1926 to the present. Full text is provided for many journal articles.
Literature Online (LION) includes:
Annual Bibliography of English Language and Literature (ABELL)
Beginning in 1920, this index lists monographs, periodical articles, book reviews, and critical editions of English literary works. Many recent citations link to full-text articles.
Masthead of Puerto Rico en Marcha, newspaper supporting Puerto Rican independence (from America's Historical Newspapers)