Newspapers and Popular Periodicals
ProQuest Historical Newspapers -- searchable full text of The New York Times and three dozen other major city newspapers, from the beginnings of their runs up to very recent years
America's Historical Newspapers -- searchable facsimiles of thousands of smaller newspapers, including ethnic American, Hispanic and Black American, and Caribbean publications
Nexis Uni and Factiva
These two databases of newspapers and other news sources include articles from the 1970s until today.
NOTE: Factiva automatically searches for the latest three months of content only, but you can change this time frame when setting up your search.
Latin American Newspapers
A searchable collection of newspapers published in the 19th and early 20th century in Argentina, Brazil, Chile, Cuba, Guatemala, Mexico, Peru and Venezuela.
Nuclear Arms and Weapons of Mass Destruction : Global Perspectives, 1945-1996
This collection of news reports was curated by the Foreign Broadcast Information Service, a U.S. government program that monitored media from around the world and translated the material into English.
American Periodicals -- contains periodicals published between 1740 and 1940, including special interest and general magazines, literary and professional journals, children's and women's magazines and many other historically-significant periodicals.
Liberty Magazine: A Weekly for Everybody, 1924-1950 (part of Gale NewsVault) -- see sample editorial below, endorsing American imperialism.
LIFE Magazine (in Google Books) -- the most popular and influential general news magazine from the 1940s through the 1970s. To search across all issues, go to the "Full View" for a single issue; enter your search terms, and check "Search all issues."
Foreign Broadcast Information Service (FBIS) -- a U.S. government office, created during World War II to translate foreign news sources for intelligence purposes. In this online database, you can limit a search by country and date range, and search for keywords in the English translations of articles and broadcasts. Example: search for the keyword anti-American and limit 'Country' to Philippines.
