Library Research Guide for Ethnicity, Migration, Rights

There are many helpful specialized scholarly encyclopedias, dictionaries, and handbooks in Widener and other libraries that can give you an overview of a specific topic. You can try searching in HOLLIS for your subject (see the HOLLIS page for finding the proper Subject terms) plus the words encyclopedias or dictionaries. Thus: “United States” AND Immigration AND (encyclopedias OR dictionaries).

Encyclopedia of diasporas : immigrant and refugee cultures around the world

Encyclopedia of race, ethnicity, and society, ed. by Richard T. Schaefer. Los Angeles: SAGE Publications, 2008. 3 v.
HOLLIS Record

Encyclopedia of race and racism, ed. by Patrick L. Mason. 2nd ed. Detroit : Macmillan Reference USA, 2013. 4 v.
HOLLIS Record

The Oxford handbook of American immigration and ethnicity, edited by Ronald H. Bayor. New York : Oxford University Press, 2013-2016.
HOLLIS Record

The Oxford handbook of ethnicity, crime, and immigration, ed. by Sandra M. Bucerius and Michael Tonry. Oxford; NY: Oxford University Press, 2014, 960 pages
HOLLIS Record

Wiley Blackwell Encyclopedia of Race, Ethnicity, and Nationalism

Routledge handbook on human rights and the Middle East and North Africa, ed. by Anthony Tirado Chase. Abingdon, Oxon; NY: Routledge, 2017, 521 pages
HOLLIS Record

American immigration: an encyclopedia of political, social, and cultural change, ed. by James Ciment and John Radzilowski. 2nd ed. Armonk, New York: M.E. Sharpe, 2014. 4 volumes.
HOLLIS Record

Anti-immigration in the United States: a historical encyclopedia, ed. by Kathleen R. Arnold. Santa Barbara, Calif. : Greenwood Press, 2011,  2 v.
HOLLIS Record

Dictionary of American immigration history, ed. by Francesco Cordasco Metuchen, N.J.: Scarecrow Press, 1990, 784 p.
HOLLIS Record

Encyclopedia of American immigration, ed. by James Ciment. Armonk, N.Y.: M.E. Sharpe, 2001. 4 v.
HOLLIS Record

Encyclopedia of diasporas: immigrant and refugee cultures around the world, ed. by Melvin Ember, Carol R. Ember, and Ian Skoggard. New York: Kluwer Academic/Plenum, 2004. 2 v.
HOLLIS Record

Encyclopedia of Ellis Island, by Barry Moreno. Westport, Conn.: Greenwood Press, 2004, 321 p.
HOLLIS Record

Encyclopedia of immigration and migration in the American West, ed. by Gordon Morris Bakken & Alexandra Kindell. Thousand Oaks, Calif.: Sage Publications, 2006. 2 v
HOLLIS Record

Immigration and asylum: from 1900 to the present, ed. by Matthew J. Gibney and Randall Hansen. Santa Barbara, Calif.: ABC-CLIO, 2005. 3 v.
HOLLIS Record

The making of modern immigration:an encyclopedia of people and ideas, ed. by Patrick J. Hayes. Santa Barbara, Calif.: ABC-CLIO, 2012. 1 online resource (865 p.)
HOLLIS Record with Online Version

Undocumented immigrants in the United States: an encyclopedia of their experience, ed. by Anna Ochoa O'Leary. Santa Barbara, California: Greenwood, 2014. 2 volumes
HOLLIS Record

U.S. immigration: a reference handbook, by Michael C. LeMay. Santa Barbara, Calif.: ABC-CLIO, 2004, 283 p.
HOLLIS record with online table of contents
--Offers historical overview of post-1965 immigration policy. Lists organizations, with bibliography of books, government reports, and websites. Chronology (1740-2002).