Checklist for New Faculty and Instructors

Find Your Liaison

Your library liaison is here to help you navigate one of the world’s largest academic library systems and translate what you know from your previous library into the Harvard context. Your liaison will welcome hearing from you.

Get to Know Harvard's Libraries and Collections

Your first weeks at Harvard are a great time to explore broadly and get ideas about collections and materials you can make creative use of in your research.

  • Locations & Hours lists many different Harvard libraries. Follow the link to a library's home page to learn more about that library's strengths and special features.
  • Explore collections to get a sense of the huge range and variety of collections across different libraries.

Login to HOLLIS and Set Up Your Accounts

HOLLIS is the library’s main research tool. It lets you search across Harvard Library’s vast collections, access full-text resources, check availability and locations, request items, export or cite sources, place materials on course reserve, and monitor your loans.

Learn How to Obtain Library Content to Use In Class

Harvard Library's course reserves staff will source, digitize, and either set aside or link course materials directly in Canvas—including those not owned by the library—ensuring timely, accessible, and copyright-compliant access for students.

Find Your Touchstone Databases

Harvard licenses thousands of databases and e-resources. Now is the time to explore and get a sense of what's out there.

Get Free Articles Faster

How to get scholarly articles for free describes the top tools for getting Harvard Library access anywhere on the web, including Google Scholar library links and the Check Harvard Library Bookmark.

Pro Tips:

  • BrowZine is also a great way to keep up with the latest research in your field - use the "bookshelf" feature to create groups of journals you want to track.
  • LibKey Nomad is an alternative to Lean Library. Download the plugin from Third Iron and select Harvard University. (If you don’t find an option to select Harvard, try the workarounds from ThirdIron Customer support.) Nota bene: LibKey Nomad does not work for JSTOR; use the Check Harvard Library bookmark instead.
  • Plugins and bookmarks will find about 80% of the access that Harvard Library makes available to you. If they fail, check HOLLIS, clear your cache and cookies (and/or try a different browser), or ask a librarian.

Stay Informed

Keep track of library events, workshops, acquisitions, services, and novel use cases.

  • Various libraries and departments send newsletters. Sign up for one of their public email newsletters and get information directly to your inbox.
  • Check out what's happening on the Library Events Calendar, from library tours to workshops and exhibits.

Prepare to Publish

Sign your individual open-access license, and distinguish yourself with an ORCID, a persistent digital identifier that you own and control, which you may connect with your professional information—affiliations, grants, publications, peer review, and more.