Welcome to the Harvard Library
This guide provides information and links to resources and services relevant to Professor Mashail Malik course Gov 94ML: Ethnic and Identity Politics. If you have library or research related questions, I would be happy to hear from you.
Resources for Context, Background, and Overviews
- Oxford Bibliographies Online is a series of selective online guides to the essential literature in subjects in the humanities and social sciences.
- Annual Reviews offers comprehensive collections of critical reviews written by leading scholars. You can also search across disciplines in this resource and then narrow to relevant disciplines law and social sciences or political science.
Finding Scholarly Sources
- Social Science Premium includes coverage of the international literature in politics, sociology, education, and criminal justice.
- HeinOnline is a digital collection of law materials including law journals and congressional and other government materials.
- HOLLIS is the Library's main search tool. It includes the Harvard library catalog as well as a huge (and more heterogeneous) collection of citations for a variety of materials, including articles and book chapters. See the HOLLIS User Guide for more information.
- Google Scholar enables you to search for scholarly literature, including peer-reviewed papers, theses, books, preprints, and abstracts from all broad areas of research.
- Citation Searching - Most databases will enable you to see the works cited by an article. Google Scholar is one of the databases that enables you to find how many times an article or book has been cited and by whom it has been cited since its publication.
Finding Reports, Opinion, & Analysis
- Pew Research Center provides data and analysis on the issues, attitudes and trends shaping the United States and the world.
- Think Tank Search searches the websites of institutions that generate public policy research and analysis including universities, governments, advocacy groups, and other entities. Part of a guide created by librarians from the Harvard Kennedy School, it also includes lists of U.S. and non-U.S. think tanks and resources for evaluating these organizations.
Helpful Services & Tools
- Ask a Librarian - Send us your question virtually.
- Check Harvard Library Bookmark - install it and use it to get to online material to which Harvard subscribes.
- Zotero: Getting Started - A tool for saving, organizing and formatting your research sources.
- Research Management & Citation Tools Research Guide - Information about various citation tools supported by the Harvard Library.