- CQ Press Electronic Library (Harvard Login)Collection of research in U.S. politics, elections, government, and public policy. Includes the following titles: Vital Statistics on American Politics, Guide to Congress, Guide to the Presidency and the Executive Branch, Guide to the U.S. Supreme Court, and Vital Statistics on the Presidency Directory.
- U.S. Government ManualProvides comprehensive information on the agencies of the legislative, judicial, and executive branches of the U.S. Federal Government. Includes information on quasi-official agencies, and other Federal boards, commissions, and committees. Includes organizational charts and contact names for major divisions. Previous editions
- Almanac of American Politics Directory (Harvard Login)Directories for congressional, federal agency, and administration staff. Accounts are needed to export lists to Excel. Contact us to get an account.
- Leadership Connect (Harvard Login)Contact information for federal, state and municipal government officials and staff. Search by name and speciality.
- LegiStorm (Harvard Login)Contains contact and biographical information for congress and congressional staff.
News, Articles, & More
- Politico Pro (Harvard Login)Database providing legislative and regulatory insights, data tools and resources for policy research.
- National Journal (Harvard Login)Collection of resources on U.S. politics and policy. Includes the National Journal Magazine, the Almanac of American Politics; and Hotline. Individual subscriptions, including alerts, are available by contacting an HKS Librarian.
- Proquest Government Periodicals Index (Harvard Login)Indexing and links to full text articles from over 300 periodicals published by agencies and departments of the United States Federal government.
- PAIS International (Harvard Login)Indexes public and social policy literature including journal articles, books, directories, conference proceedings, government documents and statistical yearbooks.
- govinfoThe United States Government Publishing Office (GPO), site for official and authentic government publications. Documents can be searched by keyword and by category.
Data & Statistics
- Data.govPortal for data and statistics from hundreds of organizations including federal agencies.
- Historical Statistics of the United States (Harvard Login)Presents the U.S. in statistics from Colonial times to the present. Also available in print HKS Ref HA203 .H57 2006
- Policy Agendas ProjectThe Policy Agendas Project collects and organizes data from various archived sources to trace changes in the national policy agenda and public policy outcomes since the Second World War. Sources include Roll Call Votes, Congressional Hearings, Executive Orders, State of the Union Addresses, and Supreme Court Cases.
- ProQuest Statistical Abstract of the United States (Harvard Login)Summary statistics on the social, political and economic organization of the United States. The only source for current Statistical Abstract of the United States (2013 to present). 1878-2012 is available through HeinOnline (Harvard Login).
- Proquest Statistical Insight (Harvard Login)Indexes the statistical content of selected United States government publications, state government publications, and international governmental publications.