Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Library Services for HLS Alumni

Library access, links and database information for HLS alums

Welcome!

Welcome!

Welcome HLS Alumni! 

Here you will find ways that you can continue to engage with the Harvard Library and our resources.

Info for New Graduates

Lexis, Westlaw & Bloomberg Access for New Graduates

Congratulations new graduates! Your Westlaw, Lexis and Bloomberglaw access will continue for a period after graduation. See Et. Seq. for details!

Preserve Your Student Leadership & Experience with HSC!

Were you involved in a student organization during your time at HLS? Did you keep a diary about law school life or take great notes in class? Learn about donating material to enrich our collection of student-created material, as well as tips for preserving student organization records and doing research in our guide.

Visit HLSL

Visiting the HLS Library

All HLS Alumni can get entry to the Harvard Law School Library. Stop by the Circulation Desk by the main entrance to sign up for an alumni access card.  

Questions? Contact access@law.harvard.edu or visit us online.

Visit us Online

Miss Cambridge? Take a virtual tour of the Law Library and explore our latest online exhibits!

Alumni Database Access

Off-site Access to Databases

As an alum, you have access to a number of databases via the Harvard Library, including the HeinOnline Law Journal Library, JStorABI/Inform, the Almanac of the Federal Judiciary, AMA Journals and Project Muse

Bookmark these pages for your alumni access:

Access to alumni resources is via the Harvard Key system. Claim your Harvard Key:

About the HeinOnline Law Journal Library

HeinOnline's Law Journal Library contains more than 1,800 law and law-related periodicals.

  • Coverage is from the first issue published for all periodicals and goes through the most-currently published issues allowed based on contracts with publishers.
  • Search by article title, author, subject, state or country published, full text, and narrow by date.

On-site Access to Databases

On-site, you will be able to use to most of the databases that are available to the Harvard Law School community.  We also have a Westlaw terminal and a Bloomberg terminal in the reference room on the 4th floor of the Library.

Find Books and Articles

Research a Topic

Harvard Law School Library and Harvard Library Libguides give you selected lists of links on a wide variety of subjects. Use these guides to jump-start your research!

Start your Search

Search these databases to identify books and articles. To get access to the materials you find, visit us on campus to use our resources in person, or use your alumni database access or ILL from your local library if you're off-site. 

Free & Alternate Legal Resources

Free Legal Resource Guide

These resources can be a great way to get started with your research when you don't have access to paid databases or if you want to get an overview of a topic before getting started with potentially expensive searches. 

This guide links to several selected free online for state and federal primary law, treaties, foreign & international law, legal secondary sources and data sources.

Alternate Legal Resources

In addition to Bloomberg, LexisNexis, and Westlaw, there are several other legal databases and resources that you can use in your research.  This guide explores the content, features and subscriptions of several including Casemaker, Casetext, Fastcase, LoisLaw, PLC, National Law Library, Ravel and VersusLaw.

Manage your Research

Your Research After Graduation

Did you use a citation management tool like Zotero, EndNote, or Mendeley to manage your research? You may be able to keep or transfer your citations for use after graduation. 

 

Connect With Us!

Follow Us!

        

Getting Help

Contact Us!

  Ask Us! Submit a question or search our knowledge base.

Chat with us! Chat  with a librarian (HLS only)

Email: research@law.harvard.edu

 Contact Historical & Special Collections at specialc@law.harvard.edu

 Meet with Us  Schedule an online consult with a Librarian

Hours  Library Hours

Classes View Training Calendar or Request an Insta-Class

 Text Ask a Librarian, 617-702-2728