Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

LRW Research Resources

Home

Welcome

This guide provides supplemental resources for students working on the LRW writing projects and should be used in conjunction with the Legal Research Strategy Guide and the reading materials posted in your Canvas Course modules in weeks six, seven, and eight.

If you would like to sign up for additional library and vendor trainings please visit:

Database Training

To learn more about the different legal research platforms visit:

Research Strategy

Research Strategy

To review research strategy please visit:

You can track your progress using:

Handouts

Organization

The following can be used to help organize your research:

Secondary Sources

Secondary Sources

To learn more about secondary sources visit:

 

Use the following drop down menu to view GIF files that demonstrate how to find specific secondary sources in Westlaw and Lexis.

Legal Dictionaries & Encyclopedias

Lexis Dictionary


Running Time: 12 seconds

 

Westlaw Dictionary


Running Time: 19 seconds

 

Westlaw Encyclopedias


Running Time: 23 seconds

Treatises

Lexis Treatises


Running Time: 13 seconds

 

Westlaw Treatises


Running Time: 25 seconds

American Law Reports (ALR)

Lexis American Law Reports


Running Time: 12 seconds

 

Westlaw American Law Reports


Running Time: 18 seconds

Restatements

Lexis American Law Reports


Running Time: 10 seconds

 

Westlaw American Law Reports


Running Time: 23 seconds

Westlaw & Lexis Handouts

Primary Authority

Statutes

Case Finding

Westlaw & Lexis Handouts

Advanced Searching

Westlaw & Lexis Handouts

Tips for Specific Advanced Search Functions

Updating Your Research

Updating Your Research

Westlaw & Lexis Handouts

Ask Your Librarian

Librarian Instructors

Feeling stuck?  Contact your library instructor.

Section 1 

Lesliediana Jones

 ljones@law.harvard.edu  

Section 2

Kyle Courtney

 Kyle_Courtney@harvard.edu  

Section 3 

Michelle Pearse

 mpearse@law.harvard.edu  

Section 4 

Jocelyn Kennedy

 jokennedy@law.harvard.edu  

Section 5

Catherine Biondo

 cbiondo@law.harvard.edu  

Section 6 

Debbie Ginsberg & Juan Andres Fuentes

 dginsberg@law.harvard.edu  
 jfuentes@law.harvard.edu  

Section 7 

AJ Blechner

 ablechner@law.harvard.edu  

Getting Help

Contact Us!

  Ask Us! Submit a question or search our knowledge base.

Chat with us! Chat  with a librarian (HLS only)

Email: research@law.harvard.edu

 Contact Historical & Special Collections at specialc@law.harvard.edu

 Meet with Us  Schedule an online consult with a Librarian

Hours  Library Hours

Classes View Training Calendar or Request an Insta-Class

 Text Ask a Librarian, 617-702-2728