Use these databases for faster access to more relevant search results.
► But . . . won't I get all the articles I need with HOLLIS?
HOLLIS will give you a lot of articles, but specialized databases (like those below) can give you more focused results from specific fields of study.
Academic Search Premier
Covers all academic subjects, and includes popular magazines as well as scholarly journals.
FIAF International Index to Film Periodicals
This database searches more than 345 of the world's foremost academic and popular film journals from 1972 to the present day. If you're looking for criticism of a particular film, use the film's title as a search term and limit to "Production Title."
Film and Television Literature Index
This database covers journals and magazines for film and television reviews, scholarly and critical analysis of cinema and television, and articles of popular interest about film and television. To find articles about a particular film or show, type the title and limit your search to "SU Subject Terms."
MLA International Bibliography
This is the standard comprehensive database of scholarship on works of literature -- novels, plays, poems, memoirs, etc. It's worth searching apart from HOLLIS, because HOLLIS does not display records from this database.
ProQuest Historical Newspapers
You'll find original reviews of films, books, etc. in major newspapers like The New York Times, Los Angeles Times, Chicago Tribune, and Boston Globe. Just search for the title of the work and add "review." Reviews of remakes and sequels usually compare them with the originals.
Google Scholar
This specialized version of Google Search is an additional avenue for finding academic articles, especially if you set the "Library Links" to Harvard, or install the Check Harvard Library bookmark.
JSTOR Images
A cross-disciplinary collection of more than two million images from museums and other collections around the world, with detailed metadata supplied by curators and the artists themselves.
HOLLIS Images
The Harvard Library's dedicated image catalog. It includes content from archives, museums, libraries, and other collections throughout Harvard University.
Kanopy
This streaming video service provides access to more than 26,000 films and documentaries from a variety of independent filmmakers and distributors, including the BBC, PBS and the Criterion Collection.
Swank Digital Campus
A streaming video service for colleges and universities, with over 30,000 films, documentaries and TV shows.
Other Streaming Video Resources
Annotated list of all Harvard's streaming video collections, as well as video search engines to find out which commercial streaming services offer specific films.
Naxos Music Library: Recordings of Jazz / Classical / World Music
Medici.tv -- Classical performance videos, including concerts, opera, and ballet
Music Online -- Recordings of jazz, classical, folk and world music