Library Research Guide for HISTSCI 1420: A History of Medicine Through Patient Voices

Academic Search Premier (largely 1980s- ) is the usual index of first resort for general periodical searches. It indexes over 3000 journals in most fields plus many general interest periodicals. Full text is available for many of the periodicals. Includes Time full text back to 1923. Book reviews are included. A few periodicals have indexing back to the 1970s.

American Antiquarian Society (AAS) Historical Periodicals Collection (1691-1877)

American Periodicals Series Online (1740-1900) offers full text of about 1100 American periodicals. Includes several scientific and medical journals including the American Journal of Science and the Medical Repository. In cases where a periodical started before 1900, coverage is included until 1940.

British Periodicals (1681-1920) offers full text for several hundred British periodicals. List of included periodicals.

Eight Centuries includes several Nineteenth Century periodical indexes together with many separate indexes to individual periodicals. The most important index included is Poole's index to periodical literature (1802-1906) which indexes 479 American and English periodicals. In the print version, articles are indexed by subject, not author. Fiction, poetry, plays are listed by title. Book reviews are listed under subject; reviews of fiction, poetry, plays are listed under the author of the work. Online version offers numerous links to full text in HathiTrust. Print version of Poole's index:
LOCATION: Widener: RR 663. 5 Library has: 6 v. in 7

Ethnic NewsWatch (1959- ) is a full text database of the newspapers, magazines, and journals of the ethnic, minority and native press.

Fortune Magazine (1930-2002) includes front and back covers as well as advertisements and all articles

Google Magazines has full text of many 20th century magazines, including Life (1936-1972).  List of Magazines included. Full text searchable. Search a magazine title in Google Books Advanced Search: Title  Return books with the title; shift from All Content to Magazines

Harper's Magazine Online offers the full text of Harper's Magazine (1850- ).

HarpWeek (1857-1912) offers full text of Harper's Weekly.

MasterFILE Premier (1980- ), designed for school and public library use, indexes more popular magazines than Academic Search Premier. A few magazines indexed back to circa. 1900.  Includes full-text Saturday Evening Post back to 1931.

Nation Archives (1865- ) includes full text of complete run of The Nation. Annual update lags behind 1 year.

Newsweek Archive (1933-2012)

Nineteenth Century in Print: The Making of America in Books and Periodicals: Periodicals offers over 30 Nineteenth Century American periodicals digitized and full-text searchable. Some of the titles currently have only short runs available.

Opinion Archives offers a full text, as well as author/title, search of full runs of the following opinion periodicals:
Americas Quarterly (2007- ) - American Spectator (1972- ) - Commentary – (1945- ) Commonweal (1924- ) - Dissent (1954- ) - Harpers Magazine (1850- ) - LaFollette's Magazine (1909- ) - Moment (1975- ) - New Leader (1924- ) - New York Review of Books (1963- ) - New Yorker (1925- ) - Orion Magazine (1982- ) - Progressive (1909- ) – Washington Examiner (2013- ) - Washington Monthly (1969- ) - Weekly Standard (1995- )

The political orientation of several of these magazine, together with that of several others, is specified in the News and Opinion section of the biennial Magazines for Libraries (1969- ).

A history of American magazines, by Frank Luther Mott. Cambridge, Mass.: Belknap Press of Harvard University Press, 1938-1968, 5 v.
FindIt@Harvard
--V. 1. 1741-1850 -- v. 2. 1850-1865 -- v. 3. 1865-1885 -- v. 4. 1885-1905 -- v. 5. Sketches of 21 magazines, 1905-1930, with a cumulative index to the five volumes.

Periodicals Index Online indexes contents of over 6000 journals in the humanities and social sciences, from their first issues to 1995. About 750 of these are full text. Covers journals from North America, the United Kingdom, and the rest of the English-speaking world and journals in other European languages including French, German, Italian and Spanish. Includes the complete table of contents for each issue of each journal.

• Basic Search searches the full text of those journals with full text, together with the citations of the non-full text journals.
• In Advanced search, adjust the menu to Anywhere except full text to search citations only.

Reader's Guide Retrospective (WilsonWeb) (1890-1982), online version of the Readers' guide to periodical literature, indexes many American popular periodicals. Print version: Readers' guide to periodical literature (1900- )
HOLLIS Record

RSAP Resources for Research: Periodicals (Research Society for American Periodicals) provides links to collections of 18th, 19th, and 20th century full-text periodicals.

Saturday Evening Post
--Internet Archive, 1829-2014
--MasterFILE Premier, 1931- 
--SEP Archives, 1821-

Saturday Review (1925-1986)

Time magazine. Browse at their site. You can easily search in Academic Search Premier by putting your search terms in one box and adjusting another to Journal name: Time. Limit by year.

U. S. News and World Report, 1948-  .  (merger of U. S. News (1933-1947) and World Report (1946-1947))
Internet Archive full text (U.S. News Weekly + Special Issues 1933-2015)

Women's Magazine Archive (1846-2005) includes: Better Homes and Gardens (1922-2005) - Chatelaine (1928-2005) - Good Housekeeping (1885-2005) - Ladies' Home Journal (1883-2005) - Parents (1926-2005) - Redbook (1903-2005). More sources for women's magazines.