Literature Reviews & Bibliographies
Annual Review of Psychology
Offers authoritative syntheses of the primary research literature in 29 academic disciplines, including psychology. A search of the Annual Review of Psychology can help you easily identify the principal contributions to your field. Articles are written by authors who are recognized experts in the field.
Current Directions in Psychological Science
Published by the Association for Psychological Science, this journal provides concise reviews of the latest advances in theory and research written by leading scholars
Psychological Bulletin
Publishes articles that evaluate and synthesize the research literature on issues in scientific psychology. The journal features comprehensive research integrations, often cross-disciplinary, in all areas of psychology. Full-text availability from 1904 forward.
Oxford Bibliographies. Psychology
A series of selective, discipline-focused, online guides to the essential literature in subjects in the humantiies and social sciences, as identified by editors and editorial boards selected by the Oxford University Press.
Web of Science: How to use it in the early stages of research
Web of Science is an interdisciplinary (i.e. covers multiple disciplines and subject areas in the sciences, social sciences as well as some arts & humanities areas) e-resource (database) that allows you to search across nearly 10,000 widely read and often cited academic journals and magazines. Coverage is particularly strong in science related fields, including psychology.
When you are still formulating a research question, use Web of Science to:
- Locate reviews of current research;
- Identify some of the authorities in your field.
Here's how:
1. Limit your search results by "document type": To the left of the screen, look for the phrase "Review Articles" in the Quick Filters section. Click that box to limit to only reviews.
2. Resort results: Most databases allow you to see your results listed by relevance or by date of publication. Web of Science also allows you to sort your results by times cited.
Since good research always acknowledges precedent, works that are most often cited are likely to be the most influential in shaping a field of research. Use this strategy to form some initial impressions of whose work you should pay attention to and what articles you shouldn't miss.
Web of Science LibGuide - for more information
http://psychology.fas.harvard.edu/people/mary-whiton-calkins
http://psychology.fas.harvard.edu/people/william-james