Essential journal databases in Psychology

PsycInfo
The premier e-resource for locating research and scholarship in psychology and its many subfields, PsycInfo is produced by the American Psychological Association. Coverage includes items from over 1800 journals in more than 24 languages. Content dates back to 1872 for some journals. APA provides help with finding information about Psychological Tests. The New EBSCOhost Interface - Quick Start Guide.

PubMed
Produced by the National Library of Medicine (NLM)—the largest medical library in the world—PubMed provides citations and abstracts from more than 4,800 biomedical journals. To learn more about using PubMed, see the PubMed User Guide, particularly the section on MeSH (Medical Subject Headings).

Web of Science 
A multidisciplinary database that allows you to search across nearly 10,000 widely read and often cited academic journals and magazines. Coverage is particularly strong in science related fields, including psychology.  Web of Science also enables you to find how many times a paper has been cited and by whom. 

Google Scholar
A good resource to supplement the other databases on this page. Before using it, be sure to change your Google Scholar settings.

Brief Introduction to Peer Review

The peer-review process helps ensure that the highest-quality research gets published. A peer-reviewed article was reviewed by scholars (the author's peers) in the same field.

Journal Databases in Related Fields

ERIC [Educational Resources Information Center]
A major e-resource for research on all aspects of education (U.S. and international), ERIC is produced by the U.S. Department of Education and available to us through EBSCOhost. Covers the education literature published 1966 - present.

History of Science, Technology and Medicine
Considered the definitive international database for locating research on topics broadly related to the history of science.  Content is drawn from 9,500 journals and other scholarly materials. Research published from 1975 on is accessible here. 

Linguistics and Language Behavior Abstracts (LLBA)
LLBA derives its content from more than 1500 journal publications and covers language in all its aspects, from phonology and syntax to writing systems and the philosophy of language. Both current and older research (back as far as 1973) is searchable from within LLBA.

Database Search