Sociology 98NA: Crime & Criminal Justice

This guide provides information and links to resources and services to help you with your research for Sociology NA: Crime & Criminal Justice taught by Roland Neil. If you have any questions about the libraries or about doing research at Harvard, please don't hesitate to ask.
Kathleen Sheehan

• Annual Review of Sociology offers comprehensive collections of critical reviews written by leading scholars.
• Web of Science published by the Institute for Scientific Information (ISI), is a multidisciplinary database, covering the journal literature of the sciences, social sciences and arts. You can also search the databases for articles that cite a known author or work.
• Oxford Bibliographies. Sociology presents annotated bibliographies prepared by scholars who have chosen the key sources in a subject area.

This is a selection of resources for finding journals articles. If you are interested in finding additional resources, try the All Databases section of the Library site.

Sociology and Related Disciplines

• Sociological Abstracts is a core resource in sociology, social planning/policy, and related disciplines. It includes citations and abstracts from over 1800 journals, relevant dissertations, books and book chapters, and association papers.​

• ProQuest Social Sciences Premium is a full text database that includesscholarship in politics, sociology, education, and anthropology.

• Web of Science (Citation Indexes) is a multidisciplinary database indexing major journals in the Sciences, Social Sciences and the Humanities. It allows you to find who has cited an article since its publication.

At Harvard

When you are looking for books and articles on a topic, use the default search in HOLLIS+, which is a keyword search. Once you have done a search, note the limits on the left side of the page. Selecting a limit enables you to narrow your search by language, source type, subject, etc.

Beyond Harvard

For books not currently available at Harvard, you can request them through Borrow Direct.

• If one of the libraries in this network has the book, you should receive it within 4 days. 
• If the book is not available through Borrow Direct or the item is an article, you can submit an Interlibrary Loan request to borrow it from a broader network of libraries, which takes an average of 2 weeks.

If you find an item in another library that you think the Harvard Library should own, you can submit a Collections Purchase Request.

For assistance with finding and using data resources and government documents in the library, please contact Diane Sredl, Data Reference Librarian.  Here are two research guides to assist you with finding data:

• Beginner's Guide to Locating and Using Numeric Data
• Public Opinion Data Resources

Below is a list of a few of the data resources available to you:

• ProQuest Statistical Insight is a bibliographic database that indexes and abstracts the statistical content of selected United States government publications, state government, business, association and intergovernmental publications.
• Roper Center for Public Opinion provides access to summary-level (aggregate) and micro-level (raw) public opinion data. The Roper Center resources require users to set up individual accounts in order to gain access to the data.
• General Social Survey (GSS) has been monitoring societal change in the United states since 1972. It is one of the most frequently analyzed sources of information in the social sciences and is used by legislators, policymakers, researchers, educators.

• Research Management and Citation Tools enable you to collect and to organize your sources and to create bibliographies quickly.
• Harvard Library Research Guides provide information about and strategies for using the Library's electronic and print collections, citation tools and more.
• Ask a Librarian is our virtual reference service.
• Scan & Deliver is a free electronic document delivery service for Harvard students, faculty and staff. 
• Borrow Direct enables you to borrow books, not currently available at Harvard, from a small network of libraries. Items are usually delivered within four days.
• Interlibrary Loan lets you borrow articles, books or other items from a larger network of libraries. It takes an average of two weeks to receive requested items