Connect to Databases
Beyond what's available in the library catalog, Harvard Library subscribes to thousands of databases containing articles, images, sound, data, and more!
Good Starting Points
- Academic Search PremierA multi-disciplinary database that includes citations and abstracts from over 4,700 scholarly publications (journals, magazines and newspapers)
- EconLitA comprehensive index of the world's economic literature, produced by the American Economic Association
- Google Scholar (HarvardKey login required)Includes peer-reviewed papers, theses, books, preprints, abstracts and technical reports from all broad areas of research
- Web of Science (Citation Indexes)Provides access to Science Citation Index,Social Sciences Citation Index and Arts & Humanities Citation Index, as well as BIOSIS, CABI: CAB Abstracts, and Zoological Record
- JSTORSpans many disciplines, primarily in the humanities and social sciences. Please note that JSTOR is not the best place to find up-to-the-minute information, because many articles are held back from the database until 1-5 years after they have been published.
- MLA International BiblographyA subject index for books, articles and websites published on modern languages, literatures, folklore, and linguistics
- New York Times (1851-2016) (ProQuest Historical Newspapers)Full-text coverage of the US newspaper of record, with page images and most photos. See Nexis Uni, below, for the most recent forty years (without page images or photos).
- Nexis UniThousands of news, business, legal, and medical publications and information sources (newspapers, newsletters, magazines, trade journals, wire services, and broadcast transcripts). The New York Times is among the newspapers covered.
- ProQuest One Business CollectionAcademic management, marketing, and general business journals, including the Wall Street Journal, and much more.
