Skip to main content

Library Resources for Summer School Faculty: Home

For Your Teaching


Teach remotely with us! We’re available on Canvas and ZOOM, and we’re happy to tailor library and archival research classes to suit your needs. We can also help locate course materials and consult with you on relevant projects. Send your students to us for guidance and support with their research.

Consider designating a Canvas Course Librarian.

Research guides help students identify scholarly resources. Ask us to create a custom guide for your class.

Interested in multimedia assignments? The Library has several specialists who can provide technological training and support for faculty and students. Check out the Virtual Media Lab, and contact hclmedia@fas.harvard.edu for more information.


Via Course Reserves, the library will order digital materials for your course, and allow you to queue up existing materials, whether digital materials that are available through the library or your own.

  • You can activate the Course Reserves service via Canvas ("Library Reserves" link) or HOLLIS ("Reserves List" feature); it can handle almost any source, including streaming media, your own PDFs, and standard items.
  • Consult the Reserves Quick Guide.


Research guides help students identify scholarly resources. Ask us to create a custom guide for your class.

Many films are only a click away. See our Streaming Video guide; it includes information on finding films, requesting films, and copyright. 

Copyright First Responders can help tackle your copyright law and policy questions.

We welcome students to email or chat with a librarian through Ask a Librarian.

Students may schedule ZOOM research consultations with librarians to receive assistance with any stage of the research process:

  • selecting a topic and articulating a research question
  • finding background information
  • conducting a review of the literature
  • engaging with primary sources and data
  • surveying methods manuals
  • organizing and citing references
  • and more!


We offer Zotero and Endnote training and personalized assistance with source citation and documentation.

For Your Research


HOLLIS is the library catalog and more, with a helpful HOLLIS user guide.

HOLLIS for Archival Discovery lets you delve into special collections and archives. Until a safe process is in place for digitizing our physical collections on demand, you may access our Digital Collections.

For specialized search engines, go to Databases. Many of these offer full text resources.

HOLLIS Images is the dedicated image catalog; It includes several digitized images as a portion of our holdings.

Browse journals on your smartphone with Browzine.

Look no further for data & government information collections and expertise.

Get remote support for research & publlishing.


Search Google Scholar with Harvard Library links.
 
Install the Harvard Library Bookmark in your browser to connect with Harvard Library subscriptions from anywhere on the web.

The following services have been disrupted due to the COVID-19 epidemic. Please stay tuned as the library works toward establishing safe procedures to approximate them:


Pick a citation & research management tool like Zotero, EndNote, or Overleaf to save references, keep notes, format citations, and more. Perma.cc prevents link rot for online sources.

In HOLLIS, check My Account/Renew (in the top-right after you sign in) to view your loans and requests. If you have several items checked out, and forgot to add them to your citation manager, it is possible to export them in bulk from this feature: Go to Loans, select your titles, click the three dots ("Push to" actions), and then choose Export.

Learn about our Research Data Management Program and make a Data Management Plan to share and preserve your data while satisfying funding requirements.

If you're doing qualitative research, we support NVivo.


Get remote support for research & publlishing.

Create your profile on OpenScholar@Harvard.

The Office of Scholarly Communication can help you negotiate contracts with publishers and provide funds for publishing in fee-based open-access journals. They sponsor Copyright First Responders, who can help tackle your copyright law and policy questions.

Harvard’s Institutional Repository, DASH, is a safe and reliable way to self-archive your publications.

Distinguish yourself with an ORCID.


We offer collaborative, cross-boundary training and support for digital scholarship. The Digital Scholarship Support Group (DSSG) helps with text mining, digital exhibits, and more (check out the DSSG's events and workshops); your liaison can put you in touch with the right people.

Let us help you visualize your data, and check out our "Media&" Workshop Series. Custom presentations and consultations are also available.

If you're doing qualitative research, we support NVivo and related tools; if you need maps, we provide Digital Mapping and GIS support.

Learn about our Research Data Management Program and make a Data Management Plan to share and preserve your data while satisfying funding requirements. With the DMPTool, you may create and share your data management plan, then store your data in the Harvard Dataverse.

Partner alongside librarians to build digital collections and exhibits with CURIOsity.

Did You Know?

Learn more about Library support for Summer School instructors.

We will purchase materials on your request.

If you are teaching in a discipline associated with a FAS academic department, you may have access to a dedicated library liaison.

Copyright First Responders can help tackle your copyright law and policy questions.

You may take a virtual tour of Widener Library from home!
screen capture from virtual Widener tour

Contact Us

Ask a Librarian ask.library.harvard.edu

Click here to go to Harvard Library website. Testimonial: “Just wanted to say thank you for the fabulous-as-ever library session. It really helped launch the students’ projects.” – Ricky Martin, Harvard College Writing Program