Skip to main content

Medieval Latin 205: Waltharius: Full Text Collections

In a Romantic depiction, Ekkehard composes the Waltharius. Source: Illustrierte Literaturgeschichte, Otto von Leixner, Leipzig, 1880. — Uploaded by Uploader 17 to Wikimedia Commons.

Steve Kuehler's picture
Steve Kuehler

Full Text Collections

Library of Latin Texts
The world's leading database for Latin texts, containing texts from the beginning of Latin literature (Livius Andronicus, 240 BC) through to the texts of the Second Vatican Council (1962-1965). Texts are found in two collections, series A and series B. Series A contains more than 3,200 works by about 950 authors from the Classical, Patristic, Medieval, and Neo-Latin (1501-1965) periods, drawn from primary sources. Series B is a supplement of additional texts taken directly from existing published editions.

Monumenta Germaniae Historica
The Monumenta Germaniae Historica (MGH) is a series of more than 300 volumes of primary sources for the study of Northwestern and Central European history from the end of the Roman Empire to 1500. The Cross-Database Search Tool lets you search the MGH and the Library of Latin Texts simultaneously.

Patrologia Latina Database (PLD, or "Migne")
The Patrologia Latina comprises the works of the Church Fathers from Tertullian in 200 AD to the death of Pope Innocent III in 1216. The database contains the complete Patrologia Latina as compiled by Jacques-Paul Migne, including all prefatory material, original texts, critical apparatus and indexes. Migne's column numbers, essential references for scholars, are included. To find a specific citation from Strecker's notes on the Waltharius, use the PLD's Table of Contents to go to a specific volume; then use <Ctrl><F> to find a specific column reference, e.g. Col.0607B. (See example from Strecker here.)

Analecta Hymnica
The Analecta hymnica medii aevi, originally published in 55 volumes from 1886 to 1926, contains texts of hymns of the Christian Church, 500-1400. This complete digital edition allows for searching the full text of the hymns, including the bibliographic references to manuscripts and prints. The user may also search by author and title, and browse by volume. Click here for a reference to the Analecta hymnica in Geraldus's Prologue to the Waltharius. To find the hymn, search the digital edition using the option "Volumina & Tituli carminum."

Digital Loeb Classical Library
A fully searchable virtual library of every Loeb volume in print. Key features include: Single- and dual-language reading modes; bookmarking and annotation features; tools for sharing bookmarks and annotations; Greek keyboard; user account and My Loeb content saved in perpetuity; and regular uploading of new and revised volumes.

PoetriaNova 2: a CD-ROM of Latin medieval poetry (650-1250 A.D.)
A collection of medieval Latin poetry produced in Europe between the 7th and the 13th centuries (CD-ROM only)

Packard Humanities Institute (Classical Latin Texts)
This website contains essentially all Latin literary texts written before A.D. 200, as well as some texts selected from later antiquity. It includes a keyword search function, as well as a concordance.