Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Medieval Latin 205: Waltharius: Secondary Sources

Articles and Essays

International Medieval Bibliography (IMB)
A comprehensive, current bibliography of journal articles, essay collections and conference proceedings for all areas of medieval studies.

Mirabile (esp. Medioevo Latino or MEL), -- Searches across several databases of medieval studies, including indexes of articles and books, with about 1,400 full-text articles.

Historical Abstracts
Scholarly journal articles, books, and dissertations on world history; a good supplement to the IMB, especially for research on the historical context of the Waltharius.

MLA International Bibliography
The standard North American bibliography for scholarly literature -- articles, essays, dissertations, and conference papers -- on literature, language, and folklore.

Reference Works

"Attila and the Huns" -- annotated bibliography in Oxford Bibliographies Online

"Waltharius." Seven-page entry by Dennis M. Kratz in German Writers and Works of the Early Middle Ages: 800-1170 (print only; Dictionary of Literary Biography, vol. 148)

The Oxford Dictionary of the Middle Ages

Brepolis Medieval Encyclopedias

Brill's Encyclopedia of the Middle Ages

Medieval Germany: An Encyclopedia (print)

All Things Medieval: An Encyclopedia of the Medieval World

Encyclopedia of Barbarian Europe: Society in Transformation (print)

For many more sources like these, search in the HOLLIS Advanced Search for the Subject Middle Ages encyclopedias.