This is the "Home
 " page of the "Guide to Research in History of Art & Architecture" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Guide to Research in History of Art & Architecture  

Selected resources for basic or in-depth research in the history of western art, architecture, and visual culture.
Last Updated: Aug 21, 2014 URL: http://guides.library.harvard.edu/art_history Print Guide RSS UpdatesEmail Alerts

Home   Print Page
  Search Guides: 
 
 

New Research Tools

SmARThistory is a free, not-for-profit, multi-media web-book designed as a dynamic enhancement for the traditional art history textbook. An outgrowth of a blog featuring free audio guides in the form of podcasts for use in The Museum of Modern Art and the Metropolitan Museum of Art created in 2005 by Dr. Beth Harris and Dr. Steven Zucker, it now includes video, images, text, timelines, and other Web 2.0 possibilities for the open collaboration in study of art history.

 

Harvard Art Museums

        
Harvard Art Museums
2014

While the Harvard Art Museums prepare for their reopening in Fall 2014, examine the Museum's collections through its illustrated online database.  For a deeper understanding of specific collections and past exhibitions, explore these curated research tools.                    


 



 

Fine Arts Library

Founded in 1895 as a part of the Fogg Art Museum, the Fine Arts Library is among the leading libraries in the world for the study of art, architecture, and visual culture from antiquity to the present. Our collections include extensive textual and visual documentation about individual paintings, prints, drawings, sculpture, architecture, and decorative arts; the history of collecting and aesthetics; art museums; and art conservation.  In addition to outstanding collections of books, periodicals, exhibition catalogs, pamphlets, and auction catalogs, the Library’s special collections contain over two million photographs, prints, postcards, albums, film stills, posters, rubbings, and drawings.

 

Explore ARTstor

 

Getting Started

Search for books, multimedia, and websites:

Use HOLLIS+ or HOLLIS Classic to search for books, journals, images, and other media in Harvard Libraries.
Use WorldCat and artlibraries.net to search for books and other publications in national and international libraries beyond Harvard.

Search for journal articles, dissertations, conference proceedings, essays, and chapters in multi-author publications:

Use Art FullText, Art Index Retrospective, Bibliography of the History of Art, International Bibliography of Art, and ArtBibliographies Modern

Search for background, context, and general bibliography:

Use Grove Art Online and Oxford Art Online

Subject Guide

Profile Image
Mary Clare Altenhofen
Contact Info
Research Librarian
Fine Arts Library / Littauer Center
altenhof@fas.harvard.edu
617.496.3592
Send Email
© 2010 President & Fellows Harvard University. All Rights Reserved.
Harvard Trademark Notice
Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip