History of Art & Architecture

This database provides full-text access to all articles from all published volumes of the Allgemeines Künstlerlexikon (AKL) and short biographical information extracted from articles in the AKL as well as the print version of Thieme-Becker (A to Z) and Vollmer (A to Z). For the part of the alphabet not yet covered by the AKL, it contains short biographical information from the AKL's Bio-Bibliographical Index A-Z (AKL Index; second edition 2007-2009).

The Berg Fashion Library is a unique online portal which offers fully cross-searchable access to an expanding range of Berg content collections – including the Berg Encyclopedia of World Dress and Fashion online, e-books, reference works, images, and much more. Students and scholars in disciplines as diverse as anthropology, art history, history, sociology, geography, folklore, museum studies, theatre, and cultural studies as well as fashion and textiles will find the Berg Fashion Library a treasury of fascinating insights into people and cultures all over the world.

A biographical and methodological dictionary database intended as a beginning point to identify major art historians of western art history and understand their careers, publications, teaching, and research. Free access to researchers, students and the general public with content copyright provisions. Compiled and hosted by the Department of Art, Art History and Visual Studies at Duke University.

Full-text, searchable version of the nine volume Encyclopaedia of Islam (RFA50.23.50) including volumes for Addenda & Corrigenda, Glossary & Index of Terms, Index of Proper Names, and Index of Subjects.

The Grove Dictionary of Art is a comprehensive art reference work covering all forms of the visual arts: painting, sculpture, architecture, graphic and decorative arts, and photography from prehistory to the 1990s. Global coverage includes the arts of Asia, Africa, the Americas, the Pacific, and Europe. In addition, influences on the production of art such as trade, geography, history and politics are fully addressed, helping to place art in context and further a broad understanding of the history of artistic endeavor.

Oxford Art Online brings together Grove Art Online, Oxford Companion to Western Art, Encyclopedia of Aesthetics, and Concise Oxford Dictionary of Art Terms, and the Benezit Dictionary of Artists. With nearly 149,000 entries, Benezit is distinguished by its coverage of both lesser-known and famed artists, images of artists’ signatures, historical auction records, and lists of museum holdings.

Oxford Bibliographies is a series of selective, discipline-focused, online guides to the essential literature in subjects in the humanities and social sciences, as identified by editors and editorial boards selected by the Oxford University Press. Individual guides are updated quarterly, with 50-75 entries added per year to each subject area, as well as revisions to existing entries; entries provides synoptic, bibliographic guide to the key literature and most useful online resources in given area of research.

Oxford Reference contains dictionary, language reference, and subject reference works published by Oxford University Press. It is a fully-indexed, cross-searchable database of all works included. A broad subject range from titles in the Oxford Companions Series is available, including the following art and architecture texts: A Dictionary of Architecture and Landscape Architecture, The Concise Oxford Dictionary of Art and Artists, The Concise Oxford Dictionary of Art Terms, The Oxford Dictionary of Art, A Dictionary of Twentieth-Century Art, and The Oxford Companion to Western Art, The Grove Encyclopedia of Decorative Arts, A Dictionary of Modern Design, The Oxford Encyclopedia of Latinos and Latinas in the United States, The Oxford Companion to the Garden and The Oxford Companion to the Photograph.