History of Art & Architecture

Use HOLLIS to search for books, journals, images, and other media in Harvard Libraries.

Tips on how to use HOLLIS

BorrowDirect allows Harvard students, faculty and staff to request items from partner libraries for delivery to Harvard, free of charge.

Many ebooks are available through HOLLIS. Use the filters on the righthand side for Online and Books to narrow your results to ebooks.

A&Aeportal offers access to a growing number of ebooks and images in art and architectural history. Publishers include museums and university presses.

Artifex Press publishes digital catalogue raisonnés. There are currently eight publications available on contemporary artists, including Agnes Martin and Sol LeWitt.

De Gruyter/University Press Library includes new titles from Columbia University, de Gruyter, the University of Pennsylvania, and the University of Toronto, plus an extensive selection from Harvard University Press.

Duke University Press ebooks spanning the humanities and social sciences

Project Muse offers a wide range of books and journals in the humanities and social sciences. Publishers include university presses and scholarly societies.

UPSO offers ebooks from major university presses and covers a broad range of disciplines. Ebooks can be read online or downloaded as PDFs for individual chapters.

Online publications from the British Museum, including research catalogues and journals.

The Digital Cicognara Library contains early literature on art, architecture, and archaeology.

The Fundación Juan March offers over 200 publications online covering all of its exhibition catalogues since 1973.

Getty Publications Virtual Library includes over 300 books that can be freely read online or downloaded, with topics including painting, photography, architecture, antiques, and conservation.

The Getty Research Portal provides access to digitized resources for the printed literature of art, including fundamental texts, rare books, exhibition catalogues, auction catalogues, and related literature.

Find selected Guggenheim Museum available on the Internet Archive.

The Metropolitan Museum of Art offers over 500 of their publications available freely to read online or download.

National Gallery of Art Publications includes an extensive list of backlist titles available to freely download in PDF, as well as NGA Online Editions, a web-based, interactive ebook alternative to a collection catalog.

The Getty Foundation's Online Scholarly Catalogue Initiative (OSCI) includes online catalogues from the Art Institute of Chicago, the Freer Gallery of Art and Arthur M. Sackler Gallery, the Los Angeles County Museum of Art, the National Gallery of Art, Washington, D.C., the San Francisco Museum of Modern Art, the Seattle Art Museum, Tate, and the Walker Art Center.

The University of Heidelberg Digital Library contains digitized manuscripts, incunabula, and literature on the history of art, architecture, and archaeology.

The Wildenstein Institute partnered with international presses such as La Bibliothèque des Arts, Taschen, and Skira to produce more than 50 titles on a wide range of French artists, with a strong focus on 18th and 19th-century art. To encourage the study and appreciation of these artists and their works, the WPI has digitized these publications, which are now freely accessible below.