Contact the research librarians

Marcella, Carla, Ning, Kathleen & Deborah

We're available to answer your questions Monday - Friday, 9 am - 5 pm
Email: Use our Ask Us form
Call: 617.495.3421
Text: 617.858.6079
Drop in: Main Desk, Gutman Library, 2nd Floor

Get a Harvard Library bookmarklet

Install the "Check Harvard Library" button in your web browser to link easily to Harvard Library's full-text access.

Chrome or Firefox user? Add a Harvard Library search box and more to your browser. Install the LibX plug-in.

Find scholarly articles & books

 

Ex: Exploring emergent literacy development in a second language: A selective literature review...
Ex: Handbook of family literacy

Develop a research question

Get help from experts:

  • Your professor or TF can discuss your ideas with you and help you connect them to course readings and assignments.
  • Librarians can help you develop a research strategy and identify relevant resources and search terms.
  • An Academic Writing Services TF can help refine a research question and review drafts of papers.
  • Scholars write handbook chapters and literature review articles that provide starting places for exploring your question.

Understand the big picture

Use handbook chapters and literature review articles to:

  • Get an overview of a new or complex topic
  • Find out the names of key authors in a given area
  • Locate terms that you can use in your research
  • Help narrow (or expand) your topic
  • Locate a bibliography of sources to help you start your research

Use the HOLLIS tab in HOLLIS+ to find handbooks, and the Articles tab to find literature review articles.

Search subject databases

It's okay to begin with Google or HOLLIS+, but then switch to specialized databases to find the best research from your discipline(s).

Use our "3-in-1" search for education-related topics:

Manage and cite my research

Use EndNote, Mendeley, RefWorks or Zotero to:

  • create reference lists in APA and other formats
  • create a searchable database of your research
  • import citations, abstracts, and more from online sources
  • organize notes and full text documents, such as PDFs, images, spreadsheets

Learn more:

Get It

Use Get It services to locate and request materials through the Harvard Library.

Quiz!

Take this quick 7 question quiz to let me know what you learned: https://tinyurl.com/masterorientationquiz