Research Guides: [FAS] History 13b: The History of International Organizations : Home

Images from Schlesinger Library

Image from International Women's Year Newsletter, 1977.

Get Started

Start your archival research on the history of international organizations with this guide.

Use the menu on the left to view additional material related to this topic.

Take Note

Many of our collections are stored offsite and/or have access restrictions. Be sure to contact us in advance of your visit.

Archival Collections

Many of our collections are stored offsite and/or have access restrictions, including most A/V material. Please Ask a Schlesinger Librarian in advance of your visit to check on the availability of materials.

Inter-American Commission on Women

Inter-American Commission on Women
An extension of the Pan American Association for the Advancement of Women, the Inter-American Commission on Women was established in 1928 to conduct a study of the legal status of women in the Americas. The collection at the Schlesinger holds manuscript materials from several influential leaders within the commission.
Alma Lutz
Lutz devoted much of her life to the United States National Woman’s Party, where she was editor of the official periodical, Equal Rights, and served on the international board. As a result, her papers include correspondence in regards to worldwide political rights of women and minutes from international conferences.
Alice Paul
After founding the United States National Women’s Party, Paul sought to raise the legal, social, and economic status of women around the world. These papers include organization of the World Women’s Party as well as speeches, reports, minutes and clippings from the IACW and other international organizations.
Doris Stevens
Stevens served as the first chair of the Inter-American Commission of Women from 1928 to 1939. Her papers include correspondence with European and Latin American feminists, research on women's rights and international law, and documentation of numerous international conferences held during the 1920s and 1930s.
Carmen Delgado Voltaw
Puerto Rican feminist and civil rights activist, Voltaw served as president of the Inter-American Commission of Women from 1978-1980. Her papers include speeches, publications, conference material, and correspondence.

Women's International League for Peace and Freedom
Women's Encampment for a Future of Peace and Justice

Women's International League for Peace and Freedom
What began as the International Committee of Women for Permanent Peace in 1915, the organization works through peaceful means to achieve world disarmament, full rights for women, and racial and economic justice. The collection at the Schlesinger holds manuscript materials from leaders within the commission as well as local chapter papers.
Women's International League for Peace and Freedom--Massachusetts
This collection contains correspondence, newsletters, financial records, membership lists, minutes of board meetings, and flyers of the Massachusetts branch of WILPF.
Women's Encampment for a Future of Peace and Justice
Organized in 1983 primarily through the Women's International League for Peace and Freedom, the WEFPJ was formed to protest the deployment of nuclear weapons, and has grown to embrace a whole range of issues, particularly social prejudices and injustices. Collection includes correspondence, minutes, photographs, creative work produced at and about the encampment, clippings, audiotapes, and information about other peace groups.
Fannie Fern Andrews
An authority on international law and education, Andrews served as U.S. representative at numerous international conferences. Her papers include correspondence, circulars, and letters from both the International Committee of Women for Permanent Peace and the WILPF.
Jeannette Rankin
pacifist and feminist, Rankin (1880-1973) was the first Congresswoman, and the only member of Congress to vote against U.S. participation in both world wars. Her papers include correspondence, campaign materials, speeches and writings, and clippings.

Women United for United Nations

Women United for United Nations
Organization founded in 1947 to publish information about the workings of the United Nations. The WUUN sought to mobilize interest in the U.N. through a series of community pilot projects, projects which heightened public awareness of the importance of the U.N. Collection includes correspondence, minutes, pamphlets, and photographs, most of which was organized as an "official history" by WUUN members. Collection also includes some correspondence and news releases of World Organization of Mothers of All Nations (WOMAN).
Louise Burton Laidlaw Backus papers
A suffragist and leader in the Pan Pacific and Southeast Asia Women's Association, this collection includes correspondence, memos, reports from Women United for the United Nations from 1952-1961.

International Labor Organization

International Labor Organization
Created in 1919 as part of the Treaty of Versailles that ended World War I, the ILO seeks to build universal and lasting peace based on social justice. Their areas of improvement include hours of work in industry, unemployment, maternity protection, and night work for women.
Ethel McLean Johnson
Johson worked at the International Labor Organization in Geneva from 1935-1939 and was acting director of the Washington office of the ILO between 1939-1943. Collection includes papers and correspondence concerning EMJ's public service career, largely after 1932.
Carol Riegelman Lubin
Lubin served in various administrative positions at the ILO for 17 years, after which she worked as a consultant and executive staff member for a number of social welfare organizations concerned with women, children, housing, and unemployment. Collection includes personal and professional correspondence, reports, writings, and speeches documenting Lubin's time with the ILO.
Maida Kemp Springer
Born in Panama, Central America, Springer participated in the workers' education movement, African trade union movements, labor education worldwide (particularly for women), and the women's movement. She eventually served as an advisor to the 48th Session of the International Labor Organization conference in Geneva. Her papers include correspondence, speeches, and photographs documenting her extensive work on behalf of the emerging trade union movement in Africa.

Additional Organizations

United States Center for International Women's Year 1975
International Women's Year was established by the United Nations to promote women's social and political rights. Collection includes reports, newsletters, journals, etc. from International Women’s Year committees, and from local, national, and international organizations. Digital images available through HOLLIS Images.
International Alliance for Women
Established in 1980 to facilitate communication among the national women's networking groups and to focus on improving and advancing the role of women in society. Records include correspondence, minutes, conference material, speeches, memorabilia, and photographs.
Ninety-Nines
Established in 1929 to promote the advancement of women in aviation through mutual support and education. The records include newsletters and minutes from the New England Chapter of the organization.

[FAS] History 13b: The History of International Organizations