Historical Collections
The following list represents historical collections relating to Jay A. Winsten and the Center for Health Communication. All collections below are available at the Center for the History of Medicine, Countway Library, Harvard Medical School. Unless otherwise noted, all collections are unprocessed and available in print, only. Additional records may be extant in other collections. To arrange for access, submit a request to the reference team at the Center for the History of Medicine. You may also contact the Harvard Chan School Archivist directly with questions.
Center for Health Communication executive administrative files, 1980-2020 (inclusive). 152 cubic feet. Unprocessed (contact Public Services).
Records document executive administration and are filed as a unit by subject title. Records include policy and procedure development documents (where not held centrally), planning and proposal records, program establishment (where not held centrally), development and review records, directives, reports, meeting minutes (where not held centrally), background subject resource and reference materials, working papers, correspondence (where not held separately) and memoranda. Includes extensive collection of legacy media, containing all office files.
Center for Health Communication external program relations records, 1986-2010 (inclusive). 63.7 cubic feet. Unprocessed (contact Public Services).
This series documents the interaction and coordination between the department and outside institutions, associations, programs, and individuals where they share similar missions and can mutually benefit from informational exchanges and/or group efforts, and where such efforts are considered part of the department's responsibilities. Includes extensive audio/visual collection of PSAs and news clips relating to CHC campaigns, and 34 posters (including original art by Sig Purwin).
Center for Health Communication subject resource files, 1977-1999 (inclusive). 4 cubic feet. Unprocessed (contact Public Services).
This series provides background on topics relating to office mission and functions. Records include articles, clippings, submissions, selected meeting minutes, discussion notes, portfolios and profiles, ratings and surveys, questionnaires, industry reports, and related correspondence.
Center for Health Communication [archived website], 2022 (inclusive). 1 archived website. Available online.
Series consists of an archived version of the Center for Health Communication's website.
