Finding Primary Sources
- Searching in HOLLIS
- Archives and Manuscripts
- Bibliographies
- Films
- Images
- Maps
- Newspapers
- Periodicals
- Personal Accounts
- Travel Accounts
To find books, periodicals, manuscripts, videos, etc., on a topic in HOLLIS, put in likely keywords and choose Library Catalog. Look at pertinent records and find the terms under Subject. For example, searching for the keywords Europe peace yields:
Europe's utopias of peace : 1815, 1919, 1951, by Bo Stråth. London, UK ; New York, NY: Bloomsbury Academic, 2016, 537 pages
HOLLIS Record
Subjects:
- Utopias -- Europe -- History -- 19th century.
- Utopias -- Europe -- History -- 20th century
- Peace -- Political aspects -- Europe -- History.
- Social movements -- Europe -- History.
- Nationalism -- Europe -- History.
- Democracy -- Europe -- History.
- Europe -- Politics and government -- 19th century.
- Europe -- Politics and government -- 20th century.
- Europe -- History, Military.
- Europe -- Commerce -- History.
Under Refine my results: Subject on the right of the results list there are more main terms (International Relations, Peace-building, Conflict management) to try, but not the terms after the dashes ( --Europe; -- Politics and government) which are called subdivisions. NOTE: If you hit one of the terms in this Subject list, HOLLIS will find records with the term, say "International relations", only on records in the set originally formed by searching Europe peace.
Redo your search using the terms that HOLLIS uses. Also, go to Starts with.../Browse (top black band) and put in Europe -- Politics and government adjusting to Browse by Subject. This is very useful in breaking down a large subject and in giving you more subdivisions, which can be applied to other Subject terms, to search. Example.
Whenever you have a reference to a useful book, look it up in HOLLIS and see what the Subject terms are.
Any pertinent book published during your era may be a primary source, but certain kinds of primary sources, including originally unpublished sources such as letters and diaries published later, have particular terms attached to their Subject terms in a HOLLIS record. Change Any field to Subject for cleanest results.
- --Archives
- --Correspondence
- --Description and travel
- --Diaries
- --Manuscripts
- --Notebooks, sketchbooks, etc.
- --Personal narratives (refers to accounts of wars and diseases only)
- --Sources (usually refers to collections of published primary sources)
The Jew in the modern world : a documentary history, ed. by Paul Mendes-Flohr, Jehuda Reinharz. 3rd ed. New York : Oxford University Press, 2011, 912 p.
HOLLIS Record
When you find a pertinent book, go to Starts With.../Browse and put in the call number, adjusting the menu to Library of Congress (Wid-LC) or Other. This shows you other books on the same subject, even though they may be in storage or checked out.
In HOLLIS Advanced Search do searches of the form:
Subject exact phrase World War 1939-1945
AND
Keywords anywhere contains: translat* German
Limit to English
Translat* yields both translated and translation
This search is not exhaustive. Where you have a particular work, do a Title exact phrase search, limiting to English
Searching Works Published in a Particular Country
In HOLLIS Advanced Search do searches of the form:
Subject exact phrase: europe enlightenment
AND
Code: MARC place of publication: fr [Code: MARC place of publication is toward the bottom of the search menu] List of country codes (fr for France)
Limit to English if desired.
See the Library Research Guide for History and the HOLLIS Help guide for more information on searching HOLLIS.
See the Directories and Guides, the Other Countries and the European Repositories sections of the Library Research Guide for Finding Manuscripts and Archival Collections
Bibliographies are published volumes, listing works (either primary or secondary) on a topic. To find them in HOLLIS, search for your topic keywords, plus bibliography as a subject.
Example: subject: Europe history AND bibliography
Antisemitism: an annotated bibliography / The Vidal Sassoon International Center for the Study of Antisemitism, the Hebrew University of Jerusalem; ed, by Susan Sarah Cohen. NY: Garland, 1987-<1998>
v. 1 [without special title] -- v. 2. 1986-1987 -- v. 3. 1987-1988 -- v. 4-6. 1988-1990 (3 pt.) -- v. 7-9. 1991-1993 (3 pt.)
HOLLIS record
British Pathé offers numerous British newsreels and documentaries
Academic Video Online has numerous modern documentaries together with newsreels from 1929 to the present.
EUscreen offers free online access to videos, stills, texts and audio from European broadcasters and audiovisual archives.
INA (Institut national de l’audiovisuel)
ARTstor is a database of digital images serving art history and the humanities.
Europeana: Cultural collections of Europe is the largest European search engine for digitized books, images, manuscripts, etc.
Europhoto offers historical photograph archives of nine European news agencies
Culture.fr is a vast collection of online images and text. Scroll down for topics list.
Combining your topical words with the phrase "Pictorial Works" in HOLLIS yields books that are largely composed of pictures.
The Harvard Map Collection contains one of the world’s finest collections of maps. Although their atlases are in HOLLIS, many of their individual maps are not. As well as political and topographic maps, they have numerous thematic maps which map demographic, social, and economic other features.
See the Maps section of the Library Research Guide for History.
European Integration History Index: Maps
See the European section and the Additional Sources for Digitized Newspapers section of the Newspaper guide
See the guide to Finding Articles in General and Popular Periodicals (North America and Western Europe).
For additional indexes: Indexes and Guides to Western European Periodicals in the Humanities and Social Sciences.
Writings in which people reflect or report on their own lives and experiences are called personal writings. They are sometimes written for publication (autobiographies, memoirs) and sometimes for private use (diaries, letters, although diaries are sometimes written with an eye to publication) and published posthumously. Personal narratives are usually accounts of wars or diseases.
Primary sources in European diplomacy, 1914-1945: a bibliography of published memoirs and diaries, by Frederic M. Messick. NY: Greenwood Press, 1987, 221 p.
Widener | WID-LC | D443.Z99 M47 x, 1987 (In-Library Use only)
HathiTrust Version
Participants in historical movements and events are often interviewed and asked to report and reflect on their experiences. These could be captured as interviews or oral histories.
To find personal accounts in HOLLIS or WorldCat search:
- First line: topical keyword (or Subject term) AND
- Second line: (diaries OR correspondence OR biography OR narratives OR interviews OR "oral histor*") as a Subject.
Find descriptions of countries by travelers in HOLLIS by searching Advanced Search for the subject term “Description and Travel” AND the relevant geographical terms: France
You can search for a keyword in travel books (Subject term: "Description and travel") on a certain country for a specified time period in Hathitrust Advanced Full Text Search by putting your keywords in the first search box and, in the second, as Title phrase, a specific book, or, as Subject: Poland "Description and travel".