Foreign Newspaper Sources

General

For post-1980 articles try Lexis/Nexis and Factiva.

Sources for many more online papers are listed by country on the  Additional Sources for Digitized Newspapers page

Links to Non-US Newspaper Archives on the Web.

The British Library maintains a list of worldwide newspaper-related research guides.

Digital French-Language Newspaper Portal

Historical Jewish Press (1843-1988) is a worldwide collection of Jewish newspapers.

Historical Newspapers Online: A guide to free Internet sources of historical newspapers.

Online Newspapers by Country

Access Newspaper Archive offers numerous newspapers from the 19th and 20th centuries. Contains many small-city newspapers.

Largely US but includes some foreign papers:
Canada (largely 20th c.) – China (North China Herald (1850 - 1926)) – Denmark (Politiken (1884 - 1936)) – France (19th/20th c.) – Germany (European Stars and Stripes (1948 - 1999)) – Ireland (18th-20th c.) – Jamaica (19th-21st c.)  –  Japan (Japan Advertiser (1920 - 1922); Pacific Stars and Stripes (1948 - 1999)) – South Africa (Sunday Times (1904 - 1945)) – UK (17th-20th c.; bulk 18th-19th c.) – US Virgin Islands (Saint Thomas Daily News of Virgin Islands (1960))

Eureka.cc offers over 5,000 newspapers, trade publications, corporate histories and profiles, news wires, radio and television transcripts, selected blogs, indexed websites and reports covering current events.  Worldwide coverage.  Strong on Canadian, European, especially French, and Latin American coverage. Includes Le Monde diplomatique (1980- ); other titles more recent. Source list.

Go to Advanced Search and choose “group of resources”, You can limit a search to particular languages or regions.

Foreign Broadcast Information Service (FBIS) Daily Reports, 1947-1996. The Foreign Broadcast Information Service is a US government agency which translates daily radio and television broadcasts, newspapers and periodicals, government statements, books, etc. from non-English sources worldwide. Reports with translations are issued for eight world regions daily and cover such topics as military affairs, politics, the environment, societal issues, economics, and science and technology.

Africa

Newspapers, news sources and popular magazines: Online news sources (Rhodes University Library guide)

African Newspapers Union List

Africa Confidential (1999- ) is a news digest for Africa. Founded in 1960. Available in print 1977-1999.

African newspaper index, 1981-1982
LOCATION: Documents (Lamont): Index Film 30.315

African Newspapers (World Newspaper Archive) offers full text of about 40 newspapers covering various date spans, 1800-1922.

Africa-Newsroom.com (2007- ):  Press release distribution platform.

AllAfrica.com (1997- ) provides news stories in French and English from African and other news sources.

SA Media (1977- ) covers South African newspapers.

Cape Town English press index for the year, 1871-1875
LOCATION: Documents (Lamont): Microfiche S 448

Egypt Daily.com provides links to news stories on Egypt.

Mail & guardian index (1986- ) indexes the Southern African (Johannesburg) ed. of The Manchester guardian weekly. Formerly (before 1993) Weekly mail & guardian index and Weekly mail index.
LOCATION: Widener Newspaper Microfilm Reading Room: INDEX Film NC 707

Asia

East Asia

For newspapers in Chinese, Japanese and Korean, see the Online Resources guides under Conducting Research on the Harvard-Yenching web page.

A research guide to China-coast newspapers, 1822-1911, by Frank H.H. King and Prescott Clarke. Cambridge, MA: East Asian Research Center, Harvard University, 1965, 235 p.
HOLLIS Record

China Core Newspaper Database (2000- ) offers full text of 673 Chinese national, regional and local newspapers or periodicals that appear at least on a weekly basis. Special newspapers relate to legal issues in China, the environment, foreign policy, literary production, economics and finance, education and various areas of science and technology.

Chinese Newspapers Collection (1832-1953) offers English-language newspapers published in China.

Index to China daily, 1990-1993.
LOCATION: Harvard-Yenching: Consult Circulation Desk for monthly ed. (at Western Section)
LOCATION: Widener: WID-LC AI21.C454 I53x

Japan Chronicle The English-language weekly (1902 – 1940) Kobe, Japan.

Japan Times Archives  (1897- ) is the longest running English paper in Japan.

NewspaperARCHIVE includes the North China Herald (1850-1926)

Old Hong Kong newspapers (Hong Kong Public Libraries). Through early 20th century.

Translations of the Peking Gazette Online (1793-1912; selected material)

Index to English language newspapers published in Korea, 1896-1937.
LOCATION: Harvard-Yenching: (W) Ref AI3.E38
LOCATION: Harvard-Yenching: (W) FW57 Microfilm
LOCATION: Widener: WID-LC AI3.E38 1966bx

Taiwan. Taiwan News Smart Web searches headlines and excerpts for several papers. Full text is available for most included papers 2011 to the present.

South and Southeast Asia

ProQuest Historical Newspapers: The Times of India (1838-2007)

Times of India, 1973-1979.
LOCATION: Widener Newspaper Microfilm Reading Room: INDEX Film NC 64

Indian newspaper reports, 1868-1942, from the British Library, London.
Marlborough : Adam Matthew Publications Ltd., 2005-<2009>
8 pts. on 211 microfilm reels
-- Consists of weekly typewritten abstracts taken from a wide variety of Indian newspapers, with some extracts. Translated by an official translator. Each report is divided into the following sections: Foreign politics -- Home administration: Police. Working of the courts. Jails. Education. Local self-government and municipal administration. Questions affecting the land. Railways and communications, including canals and irrigation. General (including a wide range of topics) -- Legislative -- Native States -- Prospects of the crops and condition of the people -- Miscellaneous
-- pt. 1. Bengal, 1874-1903 (27 reels) -- pt. 2. Bengal, 1904-1916 (26 reels) -- pt. 3. Punjab, Agra, Oudh, Rajputana and Central Provinces, c1868-1896 (29 reels) -- pt. 4. United Provinces, 1897-1937 (29 reels)--pt. 5. Madras, 1876-1921 (32 reels)--pt. 6. Bombay, 1874-1898 (18 reels) -- pt. 7. Bombay, 1901-1921 (25 reels) -- pt. 8. Punjab, 1896-1924; Sind, 1936-1939; Burma, 1938-1942; Bihar and Orissa 1920 (25 reels).
LOCATION: Microforms (Lamont) | Film A 1365
Online Guides

Pakistan Observer (now Bangladesh Observer), 1974- . A subject index.
LOCATION: Widener: WID-LC AI21.P34 K48 Library has: v. 1-2

Pakistan. Bibliographical index of the Daily Tribune, Lahore, 1931-1941: comments of political personalities on major political issues, captions of major political events & political parties, selected editorials and notes & comments on Indian politics.
LOCATION: Widener: WID-LC DS480.45.Z99 M57 x, 1978 F

South Asian Newspapers (World Newspaper Archive) offers full text of 7 newspapers covering various date spans, 1805-1922

Index to Philippine Newspapers, 1981-

Middle East

Arabic, Persian and Ottoman/Turkish periodicals (Universitat Bonn)

Jerusalem Post, Oct. 1988- .
LOCATION: Documents (Lamont): JCDROM 03

Mideast Wire.com (2005- ) offers English summaries, with links to original text as available, of news from 22 Arab countries, Iran, and the Arab media Diaspora.

Multidata Online (1994- ). “General News" includes full text for 52 Arab World dailies and weeklies in Arabic, English and French. Arabic and English interfaces.

Nashriyah: digital Iranian history (1950-early 2000s)

Pan-Arab News Index (1998- ) offers print and online newspapers and news magazines, and Internet news sources. Searchble in Arabic or English but content primarily in Arabic.

Australia and New Zealand

Trove Digitised Newspapers, 1803-1954 includes 26 digitized Australian and Tasmanian newspapers. Each paper is currently available for an often short segment of the 1803-1954 span.

Papers Past: New Zealand newspapers and periodicals includes over 40 19th century digitized New Zealand newspapers.

Canada

See also: Newspapers at Library and Archives Canada: Indexes to Canadian Newspapers which lists papers indexed for several of the indexes listed below.

Canadian index (1993- ) indexes largely periodicals but includes a few newspapers.
LOCATION: Widener: WID-LC AI3.C239x

Continues: Canadian newspaper index/Canadian news index, 1977-92.
LOCATION: Widener Newspaper Microfilm Reading Room: Index Film NC 4

Canadian news facts: The indexed digest of Canadian current events, 1967-2001
LOCATION: Widener: WID-LC F1001.C2767x

ProQuest Historical Newspapers: The Globe and Mail‎ (1844 - 2013)

Index de l'actualite, 1972- .
LOCATION: Documents (Lamont): INDEX Film 10.15 Indexes:

  • Le Devoir (Montreal)
  • La Presse (Montreal)
  • Le Soleil (Quebec)
  • Journal de Montréal

Montreal. Index de La Presse, 1988-1990.
LOCATION: Widener Newspaper Microfilm Reading Room: Index Film NC 98

Montreal. Le Devoir index, 1966-1971.
LOCATION: Widener Newspaper Microfilm Reading Room: Index Film NC 191

ProQuest Historical Newspapers: Toronto Star (1894 - 2014)

List of Indexes

Checklist of indexes to Canadian newspapers, by Sandra Burrows. 1987.
LOCATION: Documents (Lamont): INDEX Film 5.53

Latin America/Caribbean

Caribbean Newspaper Digital Library

Caribbean Newspapers, Series 1, 1718-1876 from the American Antiquarian Society Library.

Latin American Newspapers (World Newspaper Archive) offers full text of 34 newspapers covering various date spans, 1805-1922.

Latin American Newsstand (2005- ) provides full text of 41 newspapers from Puerto Rico and 11 Latin American countries. Some coverage back to 1995.

Latin American and Mexican Online News

Diario de Pernambuco is available online starting with the first issue November 7, 1825 through March 1863. It is the oldest newspaper in circulation in Latin America, published in Recife, Brazil. Announcement.

Historic Mexican and Mexican American Press Collection (mid-1800s-1970s) includes 20 Mexican and Mexican American publications published in Tucson, El Paso, Los Angeles, San Francisco, and Sonora, Mexico

Revolutionary Mexico in newspapers, 1900-1929. 345 microfilm reels.
Microforms (Lamont) Film A 1204
Microforms (Lamont) INDEX Film A 1204 = guide
Online guide
-- Includes pages from Mexican newspaper titles published in the Distrito Federal (362) and in other Mexican cities from 28 states (234 papers).

Haïti à la une: une anthologie de la presse haïtienne de 1724 à 1934, by Jean Desquiron.  [Haiti : s.n., c1993- ] (Port-au-Prince, Haïti : Imprimeur II)  6 v.
Location :  Widener Harvard Depository F1923 .H29 1993  
Contents :  t. 1. 1724-1864 -- t. 2. 1870-1908 -- t. 3 1909-1915 -- t. 4 1915-1921 -- t. 4. 1922-1930 -- t. 6. 1931-1934.

Bibliography

Colonial British Caribbean newspapers : a bibliography and directory, by Howard S. Pactor. NY: Greenwood Press, 1990, 144 p.
HOLLIS Record

Europe

Historic Newspapers project (Europeana Newspapers).

For additional sources: Indexes and Guides to Western European Periodicals in the Humanities and Social Sciences.

Austria

ANNO: Austrian Newspapers Online provides digitized newspapers, late 19th and early 20th century.

Innsbrucker Zeitungsarchiv (1960- ) offers full text file of clippings related to literature from German-language newspapers and other periodicals.

Baltic States

East View Universal Databases. CIS and Baltic Periodicals

CIS

East View Universal Databases. CIS and Baltic Periodicals

Denmark

Artikelbasen (1981- ) is a CD-ROM indexing larger articles from 8 nationwide Danish newspapers.
LOCATION: Widener: XVTS 26

Dansk artikelindeks: Aviser & tidsskrifter, 1979-1992.
LOCATION: Widener: WID-LC AI13.D26x

France

Digital French-Language Newspaper Portal

France-actualité, 1978-Ap. 1981. Indexes Le Figaro, L'Humanité, Le Monde
LOCATION: Documents (Lamont): INDEX Film 30.305

Gallica - La presse quotidienne includes numerous 19th-early 20th century newspapers. Currently includes Le Figaro (1830-1942), Le Temps (1861-1935), La Croix (1883-1944), L'Humanité (1904-1944), La Presse (1836-1858), and Le Journal des débats (1814-1912).

Le gazetier universel: ressources numériques sur la presse ancienne offers over 300 French language 17th/18th centuries periodicals, including newspapers. To access the full text, click on the abbreviation of the providing library in the URL column.

Mercure François (1605- )

Réseau francophone des bibliothèques numériques includes some digitized newspapers, including Gallica.

Le Monde is indexed by Les archives du Monde (1987- ; free search, pay for full text) and a printed index.
LOCATION: Widener Newspaper Microfilm Reading Room: Index Film NC 53 (1944-51, 1958, 1965-68, 1979-81, 1989- )

Le Monde Diplomatique, 1954-1983.
LOCATION: Widener Newspaper Microfilm Reading Room: Index Film NC 53 5

Tables du journal Le Temps, 1861-1900. Le Temps continued by Le Monde
LOCATION: Widener Newspaper Microfilm Reading Room: Index Film NC 11

Germany

Historic German Newspapers and Journals Online

DDR-Presse offers full text of three East German newspapers where they are included in ZEFYS, the Berlin State Library online historical newspaper portal.
Neues Deutschland (23. April 1946 - 3. Oktober 1990)
Berliner Zeitung (21. Mai 1945 - 31. Dezember 1990)
Neue Zeit (22. Juli 1945 - 5. Juli 1994)
Article in SpiegelOnline (English version)

Deutsche Zeitschriften des 18. und 19. Jahrhunderts. Microfiche-Volltext Edition. Hildesheim: Olms Neue Medien, ca. 25000 microfiches
Microforms (Lamont) | INDEX Microfiche W 4671 = Printed Guides
Microforms (Lamont) | Doc Disk AP30 .D59 1999x (Title list on CD-ROM)
Microforms (Lamont) | Microfiche W 4671

This is not an index, but a collection of periodicals and newspapers. List of periodical titles, including newspapers.

Innsbrucker Zeitungsarchiv (1960- ) offers full text file of clippings related to literature from German-language newspapers and other periodicals.

Taz, die Tageszeitung, 1986- . [CD-ROM ed. of: Tageszeitung (Berlin/Frankfurt au Main, Germany)].
LOCATION: Widener: Harvard Depository

Vossische Zeitung Online, 1918-1934, a Berlin daily newspaper.

ZEFYS (  -1946), the Berlin State Library online historical newspaper portal.

Zeitungs-Index; Verzeichnis wichtiger Aufsatze aus deutschsprachigen Zeitungen, 1974- . German language papers incl. one from Vienna and two from Zurich.
LOCATION: Documents (Lamont): Index Film 30.15

Ireland

Index to biographical notices in the newspapers of Limerick, Ennis, Clonmel and Waterford, 1758-1821.
LOCATION: Microforms (Lamont) | Microfiche W 3132

Irish political and radical newspapers of the twentieth century (1895-1941) 9 pts. on 117 reels.
HOLLIS Record
Online Guide 

The Irish Times (1859-2015) and The Weekly Irish Times (1876-1958)

Irish Newspaper Archives. Free searching, limited (10) free downloads). Harvard does not subscribe.

Russia

Current Digest of the Russian Press (1949- ) is available (in English) in East View Universal Databases. Print version.

Formerly titled
--Current digest of the Soviet press (1949-1992)
--Current digest of the post-Soviet press (1992-2010).

Letopis' gazetnykh statei, 1956- .
LOCATION: Russian Res Ctr:
LOCATION: Widener: Slav 590.154

Litopys hazetnykh statei: derzhavnyi bibliohrafichnyi pokazhchyk Ukrainy, 1966- .
LOCATION: Widener: Slav 3220.520.14
LOCATION: Microforms (Lamont): Microfiche SC 444

The Soviet world, 1948-1989 a bibliography of articles from the Soviet and Western press.
LOCATION: Microforms (Lamont): Microfiche W 4340 Library has: 612 microfiche
LOCATION: Microforms (Lamont): INDEX Microfiche W 4340 = Guide for 1948-1989

East View Universal Databases, (1999/2000- ) includes some English-language material and non-newspaper periodicals.

Spain

El Pais, Madrid (1976- ) offers searchable full text.

Historic Newspapers project (Europeana Newspapers) includes, among other collections, over one million public domain newspaper articles from the Spanish aggregator Hispana.  Largely local

Veinticuatro diarios. Madrid, 1830-1900; articulos y noticias de escritores espanoles del siglo XIX.
LOCATION: Widener: Span 4035.70 Library has: 4 v.

United Kingdom

British Newspaper Archive offers free searching, pay for full text

17th and 18th Century Burney Collection Newspapers includes newspapers and pamphlets owned by the British Library. The core collection was put together by Rev. Charles Burney (1757-1817), and augmented in the years following its acquisition by the then British Museum in 1818.

Preliminary Guide for Students Using the Burney Collection of Newspapers

Gale NewsVault includes:

  • 19th Century British Library Newspapers: Part 1 contains the full runs of forty-eight national and regional newspapers.
  • 19th Century British Library Newspapers: Part 2
  • British Newspapers, Part 3: (1780-1950)
  • British Newspapers, Part 4: (1780-1950)
  • Daily Mail Historical Archive (1896-2004)
  • Economist Historical Archive (1843-2008)
  • Financial Times Historical Archive  (1888–2006)
  • Illustrated London News Historical Archive 1842-2003
  • Independent Digital Archive, 1986-2012
  • Listener Historical Archive  (News & Op/Ed of BBC), 1929-1991
  • Picture Post Historical Archive (Similar to LIFE), 1938-1957
  • Punch Historical Archive, 1841-1992
  • Sunday Times Digital Archive 1821-2006
  • Times Digital Archive (1785-1985)

18th Century Journals: A Portal to Newspapers and Periodicals c1685-1815 includes some British colonial newspapers, e.g., Calcutta Gazette.

Local index of the Dumfries and Galloway standard and advertiser and its predecessors over 200 years.
Location: Widener WID-LC PN5139.D853 D8524x

v. 1. The Dumfries weekly journal, 1777-1833
v. 2. The Dumfries weekly journal, 1777-1833, addendum; The Dumfries times, 1833-1842; The Dumfries standard, 1843-1860
v. 3. The Dumfries courier, 1832 & 1833; The Dumfries standard, 1861-1880
v. 4. The Dumfries & Galloway standard and advertiser, 1881-1900
v. 5. The Dumfries & Galloway standard & advertiser, 1901-1910
v. 6. The Dumfries & Galloway standard & advertiser, 1911-1920
v. 7. The Dumfries & Galloway standard and advertiser, 1921-1925
v. 8. The Dumfries and Galloway standard and advertiser, 1926-1930

Financial times. Annual index, 1981- . Monthly index is available until the annual volume arrives.
LOCATION: Baker Business: Reading Room West Balcony Latest 5 years: Reference Index.
Online version of Financial Times in Gale News Vault

The Independent (Newspaper - London), 1896-2009 is included in Gale NewsVault

The LISTENER (News & Op/Ed of BBC), 1929-1991 is included in Gale NewsVault

London Gazette (1665- ), Edinburgh Gazette (1699- ) and Belfast Gazette (1921- ) are official journals of record of the British government and are available online from their inceptions.

The Guardian (1821-2003) and The Observer (1791-2003)

Illustrated London News Historical Archive, 1842-2003

Lesbian and Gay Newsmedia Archive has over 200,000 cuttings from the UK 'straight' press covering all aspects of gay life from 1890s to present. Both local and national (broadsheet and tabloid) press represented, and some overseas newspapers. Only cuttings from 1937 to 1969 indexed. Not full text, only citations
Indexed by: Year – Source – Subject – Region

Picture Post (UK - Similar to LIFE), 1938-1957 is included in Gale NewsVault

Scotsman Digital Archive (1817-1950) provides articles digitized and searchable by keyword and phrase. Searching free. Will eventually extend to present.

The Sunday Times is available full text in LexisNexis from 7/1987 on. It is not included in the Times Digital Archive (next item). It is indexed (1973-1980) in Historical Newspapers Online and in the paper Times index:
LOCATION: Widener Newspaper Microfilm Reading Room: INDEX Film NC 84 (1906-)

The SUNDAY Times, 1821-2006 is included in Gale NewsVault

The Times is available full text, including news, editorials, advertising, and pictures, in the Times Digital Archive (1785-1985). It is indexed in Historical Newspapers Online (1790-1980) and in paper indexes:
LOCATION: Widener Newspaper Microfilm Reading Room: Index Film NC 84.3 (1785-1790)
LOCATION: Widener Newspaper Microfilm Reading Room: Index Film NC 84.15; INDEX Film NC 84 (1906-)
LOCATION: Widener Newspaper Microfilm Reading Room: Index Film NC 84.8 (1873-1941)

The Times diary & index of the war, 1914 to 1918.
LOCATION: Widener: RR 3609. 50

Wales

Welsh Newspapers Online (from the National Library of Wales