Microfilm Collections

Instructions for requesting microfilm in Lamont.  The Microfilm Collection is not open access and must be paged.

Labor  --  Native American  --  Religious  --  Underground/Alternative Press  --  Women/Feminism

Labor

Littauer Library Slichter Industrial Relations Collection preservation microfilm project: Pamphlets and Newspapers

The Boston Public Library has a collection of labor newspapers, largely Massachusetts and New York, on microfilm.

Native American

Periodicals by and about American Indians. Bethesda, MD : University Publications of America, 2009? 82 microfilm reels
Microforms (Lamont) Film A 1435
Microforms (Lamont) INDEX Film A 1435 = guide
Online guide
--Ephemeral periodicals (mimeographed news-sheets, offset tabloids, and, occasionally newspapers) often from short-lived presses and circulated hand to hand. Most originate with Indian groups, some are missionary society or federal publications, U.S. and Canadian.
--Reels 1-47 contain files through 1972 or 1973; reels 48-82 contain updates for 1973-1981 issues grouped by year and numbered on container labels as reels 73-1, 73-2, 73-3, 74-1, 74-2, etc.

American Indian periodicals in the Princeton University Library. NY: Clearwater Pub. Co., 1981-1983. 2690 microfiches.
Microforms (Lamont) | Microfiche W 5299
Microforms (Lamont) | INDEX Microfiche W 5299 = shelflist
Microforms (Lamont) | Harvard Depository | Film W 23793
Online guide

American Indian periodicals from the State Historical Society of Wisconsin, 1884-1981. 13 microfilm reels.
Microforms (Lamont) | Film A 938
Online guide

Contemporary newspapers of the North American Indian / [a Bell & Howell product prepared in cooperation with the American Indian Press Association and the Huntington Free Library of the Museum of the American Indian]. Wooster, Ohio : Micro Photo Division, Bell & Howell, [1974?] 18 reels & guide (67 leaves.)
Tozzer | Microfilm | N.A.ETH. B 412 c
--Includes nearly 50 newspapers, 1924-1973. 

Religious

Mormon newspapers, nineteenth century. 1 microfilm reel ;
Microforms (Lamont) | Harvard Depository | Film W 24019
HOLLIS Record with Contents list

Underground / Alternative Press

The following microfilm sets contain hundreds of U.S. and British alternative / underground newspapers from the era 1963-1985. No indexing is available.

To find out if your newspaper is in one of these four collections, search the title in the UIUC Library Newspaper Database.  Find the reel number by consulting the printed guides (call number preceded by “INDEX”).

Preserving the U.S. Underground and Alternative Press of the 1960s and '70s: History, Prospects, and Microform Sources. Appendix B offers a list of the publications in the original. Underground newspaper collection and the Hoover and Missouri supplements, but not the Alternative Press Center supplement.

Underground newspaper collection 476 microfilm reels [1963-1985]
Microforms (Lamont) | Film S 4044
Microforms (Lamont) | INDEX Film S 4044
Online list
HOLLIS Record
Individual titles have HOLLIS records but with CRL location only. Reel and item number are given.

Hoover Institution supplement to the Underground newspaper collection. 16 microfilm reels
Microforms (Lamont) | Film S 953.5
Microforms (Lamont) | INDEX Film S 953.5 = Guide
HOLLIS Record
Individual titles DO NOT have HOLLIS records

Underground press collection. Alternative Press Center supplement. 320 microfilm reels
Microforms (Lamont) | Film A 902
Microforms (Lamont) | INDEX Film A 902 =guide
Lamont REFERENCE READY REF INDEX Film S 953.6
HOLLIS Record
Individual titles DO NOT have HOLLIS records

Alternative press collection. Microfilm] 1986-<2015>
Microforms (Lamont)  |  Film S 4044
Microforms (Lamont)  |  Index Film S 4044
HOLLIS Record

UMC Library underground newspaper collection. University of Missouri, Columbia. 9 microfilm reels.
Microforms (Lamont)  Film S 953.6Microforms (Lamont) INDEX Film S 953.6 [= Guide ]
HOLLIS Record

For Britain:
Underground and alternative press in Britain.
Microforms (Lamont) | Film S 1403
Microforms (Lamont) | Microfiche S 65 Guides issued as separate printed vols. have call no: INDEX Microfiche S65 
HOLLIS Record

The Left in Britain. Microfilm reels & Microfiche.
HOLLIS Record

The Underground and alternative press in Britain. Microfilm.
HOLLIS Record

British contemporary press. Microfilm.
HOLLIS Record

Women/Feminism

Herstory: microfilm collection (90 reels)
Microforms (Lamont) Film S 1023
Online Guide
--Over 800 periodicals from the International Women’s History Periodical Archive

Herstory : microfilm collection. Table of contents and Supplementary Set
Berkeley, Calif.: Women’s History Library; Wooster, Ohio: Micro Photo, 1972, xiv, 136 p.; Addenda, 2 vol., 1976.
HOLLIS Record (Table of contents)
HOLLIS Record (Supplementary Set)

Described in:
The Women's History Research Center Collections: Access and Utility. Serials Review, 01 October 1979, Vol.5(4), p.39-44
Online Version