Subject/Era Based Digital Collections

Colonial-era  --  Civil War-era/Abolitionist --  Vietnam War-era --  Agriculture  --  Alternative/Underground -- Campaign  --  College/Student  --  Communism  --  Entertainment  --  LGBT  --  Military  --   Women

Colonial-era

Accessible Archives includes:​

  • The Pennsylvania Gazette (1728-1800)
  • South Carolina Newspapers (1732-1780)
  • The Virginia Gazette (1738-1780)
More about Accessible Archives content.

Birth of America: the year in review, 1763-1783; a chronological guide and index to the contemporary colonial press.
LOCATION: Widener: RR 3621. 13

Debating the issues in colonial newspapers: primary documents on events of the period.
LOCATION: Widener: WID-LC E187.C78 2000

Index of references to American women in colonial newspapers through 1800. Covers only the New Hampshire Gazette, 1756-1770 (v. 1) and 1771-1785 (v. 2).
LOCATION: Widener: WID-LC CS61.Z99 E92 x Library has: v. 1-2

The performing arts in colonial American newspapers, 1690 -1783, text database and index
LOCATION: Theatre Collection: TS CDRom 9 Library has: CD ROM + User's guide

Civil War-era & Anti-Slavery

Civil War: a newspaper perspective (Accessible Archives) includes full text of over 11,000 articles (including over 700 graphic images), Nov. 1, 1860 - Apr. 30, 1865. Drawn from the New York herald, the Charleston mercury, and the Richmond enquirer. Also on CD-ROM.
LOCATION: Documents (Lamont): CD-ROM Doc E468.C578 1994x

Civil War newspaper maps: a cartobibliography of the Northern daily press.
LOCATION: Map Coll (Pusey): MAP-LC GA405.5.Z99 B67 1993x

Illustrated Civil War newspapers and magazines. Full text. Includes campaign newspapers.

ProQuest Civil War Era (1840-1865) includes complete runs of: Richmond Dispatch, Charleston Mercury, New Orleans Times Picayune, Boston Herald, New York Herald, Columbus State Journal (Ohio), The Kentucky Daily Journal, and Memphis Daily Appeal.

Accessible Archives includes:

  • The Civil War: A Newspaper Perspective
  • The Civil War: A Midwestern Perspective
  • The Liberator (1831-1865)
  • National Anti-Slavery Standard (1840-1870)
  • The Pennsylvania Newspaper Record (1830-1871)
More about Accessible Archives content.

Antislavery newspapers and periodicals. 5 vols. Indexes about 40,000 published letters. Correspondence sections comprised around one fifth of the contents of anti-slavery periodicals. Letters listed in chronological order under each periodical, with brief summaries. Index of correspondents.
LOCATION: Widener: WID-LC AI3.B55

  • Vol. I: 1817-1845
    • Philanthropists
    • Emancipator
    • Genius of Universal Emancipation
    • Abolition Intelligencer
    • African Observer
    • Liberator
  • Volume II: 1835-1865
    • Liberator
    • Anti-Slavery Record
    • Human Rights
    • Observer
  • Volume III: 1836-1854
    • Friend of Man
    • Pennsylvania Freeman
    • Advocate of Freedom
    • American and Foreign Anti-Slavery Reporter
  • Volume IV: 1840-1860 and Volume V: 1861-1871
    • National Anti-Slavery Standard

Slavery and Anti-slavery: A Transnational Archive includes many abolitionist newspapers.

Vietnam War-era

War in Vietnam: A Multimedia Chronicle. From CBS News and New York Times.
LOCATION: Documents (Lamont): CD-ROM DS558.W37 1995x
LOCATION: Widener: Harvard Depository

Agriculture

Farm, Field & Fireside: Agricultural Newspaper Collection (1856-1981)

Alternative/Underground

Alt-Press Watch (1995- ) is a full text database of the newspapers, magazines, and journals of the alternative and independent press.

Independent Voices provides over 1,000 titles of the independent alternative press of the 60s-80s. Many papers are still only available at Harvard via microfilm collections.

Rock and roll, counterculture, peace and protest (1950-1975).  Choose Document Type: Underground Press to see titles.

The Sixties :primary documents and personal narratives 1960-1974

Campaign

Illustrated Civil War newspapers and magazines. Full text. Includes campaign newspapers for 1860, 1864.

College/Student

Collegiate Chronicle aggregates US student newspapers.

To search for articles in the Harvard Crimson Online Archives (1873- ), go to Google Advanced Search.  Put your terms (you may include a year) in the appropriate search box, and put  - thecrimson.com - in the Site or Domain box.

Communism

Proquest historical newspapers. Communist historical newspaper collection  -- People's weekly world (1990-2013) -- Sunday worker (1936-1958) -- The toiler (1919-1922) -- The worker (1922-1924) -- The worker (1958-1968).

Entertainment

American Popular Entertainment collection (1853-1929) (Illinois Digital Newspaper Collections) contains newspapers and trade journals published for the entertainment industry. Titles Currently Available:

New York Clipper 7 May 1853 - 12 July 1924 (3605 issues)
Player 8 December 1911 - 21 November 1913 (102 issues)
Vaudeville News 16 April 1920 - 8 June 1929 (286 issues)

LGBT

Archives of Sexuality & Gender: LGBTQ History and Culture Since 1940 includes Lesbian Herstory Archives and other newspapers

Bay Area Reporter Complete Archives 1971-2005 (San Francisco)

LGBT Life with Full Text includes newspapers.

"News on the Margins: Surfacing Marginalized Voices in the Newspaper Collections of Libraries, Archives, and Museums" Appendix E: Open Digital and Digitized Newspapers offers lists of open access LGBT newspapers

Military

America and World War I: American Military Camp Newspapers (Accessible Archives)

Stars and Stripes

Stars and Stripes: The American Soldiers' Newspaper of World War I, 1918 to 1919

Stars and Stripes Publication History

Several editions are available via Access Newspaper Archive (European ed. and Pacific ed. 1948-1999; several for the WWII era).  To search an individual edition, you must specify country, state, city of publication at the bottom of the Advanced Search page.  Find this information here: At bottom: Browse available papers. Select desired paper. Resulting page gives Country State and City needed to limit search to Stars and Stripes.

Women

Women’s Suffrage Collection (Accessible Archives), 1849-1913