Women at Harvard University

General information by and about the Harvard Law Wives, 1946-1972 (HUD 3513.1000).
The Harvard Law Wives was founded in 1946. This collection may contain press accounts, pamphlets, and ephemera.

• Open for research.

 

General information about Harvard Medical School teas, 1951-1957 (HUD 3565.4000).
The collection contains invitations to teas at the Harvard Medical School given for women who are themselves or whose husbands are connected with the teaching staff of the Harvard Medical School.

• Open for research.

 

General information by and about the Newcomer's Club, 1956-1964 (HUD 3602.3000).
The Newcomer’s Club was begun in 1939 by the College Teas Association to provide help to newcomers to Harvard and Cambridge. This collection may contain press accounts, pamphlets, and ephemera.

• Open for research.

 

Recipe card file of Marietta McPherson Greenough, approximately 1917 (HUG 1436.40).
Marietta McPherson Greenough was an author, cookbook collector, and an advocate of home economics as a field of study. Under the pseudonym Mary Green, she published Better Meals for Less Money in 1917. She was the first wife of Harvard professor and dean Chester Noyes Greenough. The card file contains recipes collected or created by Marietta McPherson Greenough probably as part of her research for her book Better Meals for Less Money, in which some of these recipes were published.

• Open for research.

 

Backstairs at Harvard, by Ruth Hyde Hanford (HUG 4749.500).
Ruth Hyde Hanford was a graduate of Vassar and the wife of Alfred Chester Hanford, a professor of government and Dean of Harvard College from 1927 to 1947. This memoir by Ruth Hyde Hanford recounts her experiences as a student at Vassar College, an employee at the Harvard Bureau of Municipal Research (working under William Bennett Munro and housed in Widener Library), and the wife of a Harvard College dean.

• Open for research.

 

Virginia Wheeler Harrold scrapbook, 1951 (HUM 171).
Compiled by Virginia Wheeler Harrold, the scrapbook documents the 25th reunion in June 1951 of the Harvard College Class of 1926, of which her husband, John Coate Harrold, was a member. The volume contains five typewritten pages of recollections written by Virginia describing reunion activities and their travel to and from Cambridge, as well as photographs of the campus, classmates, and activities, all of which are captioned; programs and ephemera, including Virginia’s name badge; constitution for the class; notice of a meeting of the Harvard Engineering Society, attended by John Harrold; architectural brochure describing the new Graduate Center designed by Walter Gropius; and an annotated map from the publication Harvard on View, 1951-1952.

• Open for research.

Papers of William Morton Wheeler, 1884-1980. (HUGFP 87.xx).
William Morton Wheeler (1865-1937), entomologist and myrmecologist, taught applied biology at Harvard University from 1908 to 1934. The collection reflects Wheeler’s professional activities at Harvard University. It also contains biographical and family papers of Wheeler's wife, Dora Emerson Wheeler, and travel diaries presumably from Wheeler’s daughter, Adaline Wheeler.

• Open for research.

 

Minutes of the Committee on Teas for the Wives of Harvard Law School Students, 1931-1945 (HUD 3825.2505).
A committee comprised of wives of Harvard Law School faculty members organized two teas a year for wives of Law School students between 1931 and 1945. They asked each hostess to fund it by contributing $3.00. Teas were managed by a rotating committee of three. They were held in the ladies' room of the Faculty Club. Contains minutes of the Committee for Teas for the Wives of Harvard Law School Students. Information pertains to finances, invitations, meetings, and members.

• Open for research; some access may apply.
   

Our Harvard Tercentenary Ways, September 1936 (HUA 936.35).
Laura Caroline Garretson Haggerty was the wife of Melvin Haggerty who earned a Harvard Ph.D. in 1910; he was dean of the School of Education at the University of Minnesota at the time of the Harvard Tercentenary. This is an account of a motor-trip from Minneapolis to Cambridge written by Haggerty, a Delegate of the University of Minnesota at the Harvard Tercentenary. Her journey includes a [N]ew England tour before the celebration and leads up to experiences and impressions during the three Tercentenary Days.

• Open for research.

 

Records of the College Teas Association and Harvard Neighbors, 1894-1995 (HUD 3824).
The College Teas Association was instituted during the presidency of Charles William Eliot in 1894 by a group of faculty wives in order to promote "social intercourse among the ladies of the University." In 1939, the Newcomer's Club was begun to provide help to newcomers to Harvard and Cambridge. Most of the records cover the history of the College Teas Association from 1894 to 1972.

• Open for research; some access restrictions apply. Requires review by archivist.

Records of the Society of Harvard Dames, 1896-1983 (HUD 3317.3xx).
The Society of Harvard Dames, an organization of wives, mothers, and sisters of Harvard students, was founded in 1896 by Anna P. Lowell, wife of former Harvard President Abbott L. Lowell, to promote “acquaintance and social fellowship among its members.” In 1972, the name of the organization changed to the Student Wives Association. The Records of the Society of Harvard Dames include the organization's constitution and by-laws, yearbooks, minutes, corresponding secretary's reports, president's files, activity and program records, scrapbooks, event calendars, financial records, and annual reports.

• Open for research; some access restrictions apply. Requires review by archivist.