Archival Collections: Institutional Records
Examinations for women: certificates, 1890. (UAIII 15.26.50).
1 folder.
- Open for research.
General information by and about the Harvard College Women's Center, 2007- (HUF 877.2000.2).
Founded in 2005, the mission of the Harvard College Women's Center is to promote awareness of women's and gender issues among the Harvard community. Designed as a space for both meetings and relaxation, the Women's Center develops and implements a wide range of programs addressing women's and gender issues at Harvard and beyond. The collection may contain press accounts, pamphlets, and ephemera.
- Open for research.
Harvard examinations for women, 187?-18?? (HUC 877.95).
The Harvard examinations for women were instituted by the Woman's Education Association. The purpose was to certify a high level of attainment in what were considered essential branches of knowledge. The examinations were not a part of the Harvard University admission process. They were used to determine admission to Radcliffe College when that institution was later established.
- Open for research.
Harvard University. Corporation. Committee on Admitting Women to the Medical School, Report, Mar 23, 1867 (UAI 10.160).
The Committee met in response to the petition of two women, Susan Dimock and Sophia Jex-Blake, seeking admittance to Harvard Medical School. Contains a one-page handwritten report, dated Mar. 23, 1867, from the Committee on Admitting Women to the Medical School, and a 3-page accompanying letter. The letter to Thomas Hill, president of Harvard College, from Edward H. Clarke, professor at the Medical School, is dated Mar. 17, 1867. In the letter, Clarke asks whether the Medical School should change its statutes to exclude women from admission explicitly.
- Open for research.
Harvard University News Office press releases relating to women at Harvard, 1935-1966 (HUG 3878.2).
A selection of Harvard University News Office press releases relating to women assembled by the Harvard University Archives.
- Open for research.
[Petition] To the honorable, the president and fellows of Harvard College, 1864-1866? [from] Matilda Freeman Dana, Mary Bates Merriam, Ellen Maria Sawyer. (Records of the Harvard Corporation; Corporation Papers, Second Series; Folder 1864, UAI 5.130).
A letter from three female Harvard College Library catalogers petitioning for an increase in salary. The letter is dated July 29, 1864. Their petition is seconded in an amendment to the letter written by Ezra Abbott, assistant librarian and superintendent of the Cataloguing Dept. The last page of the letter contains explanatory notes written by "Mr. Hill" (possibly Thomas Hill, President of Harvard) on Sept. 12, [1866?].
- Open for research.
- Open for research.
Records of the Advisor for Harvard Wives, 1943-1967. (UAV 124.xx).
The office of the Advisor for Harvard Wives was associated with the Counsellor for Veterans Office. The purpose of the group was to assist faculty members, and particularly their wives, to adjust to the Cambridge community. The collection includes general correspondence files of the Advisor for Harvard Wives and annual reports, statistics, petty cash book, publicity information, registration cards and other records.
- Some access restrictions may apply. Requires review by archivist.
Records from the Committee on the Status of Women in the Faculty of Arts and Sciences, 1971-1975. (UAIII 10.266.xx).
Contains a report, correspondence, and other records.
- Some access restrictions may apply. Requires review by archivist.
Records of the Committee on the Status of Women in the Faculty of Arts and Sciences, 1995-1997. (Accession 14613).
Contains materials related to day care and junior faculty, inquiry into women in the social sciences, and a tenure controversy.
- Some access restrictions may apply. Requires review by archivist.
- Open for research.
- Open for research