Library Research Guide for Celtic Languages and Literatures

A periodical is a resource published at regular intervals. Periodicals are important sources of current information and opinion. 

A newspaper is a periodical containing news, feature articles, advertisements, and correspondence. Newspapers are closely tied to time, as well as to a specific geographic location and community.

A magazine is a periodical containing articles and illustrations, typically covering a particular subject or area of interest. Magazines are not as closely tied to time as newspapers, nor are they necessarily tied to a specific geographic location or community. 

HOLLIS

Newspapers and magazines can be searched for in the library catalog.
 

How to find?

How to find newspapers and magazines in the library catalog:

• Open HOLLIS, Harvard's library catalog.
• Above the search bar, there are options for different types of searches. Select Advanced Search. 
• An expanded search box will appear. At the top of the search box is the text Search for and options to search the entire system or to limit the search to only materials which Harvard holds. There are also the options to search for reserves or by barcode. Select Library Catalog. This will limit the search to only materials which Harvard holds.
• In the expanded search box is the text Search Filters. Below this text is a row of three search boxes. The first box limits what the search will look at (e.g. author names, titles, etc.). Click the downward arrow in the first box and select Subject from the dropdown menu. This tells the search to look for materials tagged with a certain keyword.
• The second box limits whether the search looks at everything which contains the words searched for, or whether the search only looks at things which match the search words exactly. Click the downward arrow in the second box and select contains from the drop-down menu. This tells the search to look for materials which are tagged with the word searched for.
• The third box is where search words are entered. Type Newspapers or Magazines in the third box. This will retrieve resources which have been tagged with the keyword "Newspaper" or the keyword "Magazine", respectively.
• Select the Search button in the bottom right corner of the expanded search box. 

This search will retrieve newspapers or magazines held at Harvard.

A number of newspapers and magazines have been digitized. Still more are preserved on microfilm and can be found in microfilm collections.
 

Newspaper Archive

Newspaper Archive is a database that includes tens of millions of pages of historical newspapers, dating as far back as the 1700s. The strength of this product is its inclusion of many small town newspapers.
 

British Library Newspapers

The British Library holds over 34,000 titles from the UK and overseas, or 60 million individual issues. The newspaper collection includes the ongoing legal deposit collection of UK and Irish newspapers.
 

National Library of Ireland Newspapers

The National Library of Ireland newspaper collection is a major source of information about daily life in Ireland, as well as a source for political, economic and social history, and local studies and genealogy.
 

National Library of Wales Welsh Newspapers

A collection of 15 million Welsh digitized newspaper articles.
 

National Library of Scotland Newspapers

The National Library of Scotland's newspapers collection is one of the largest in the UK. It is also the largest in Scotland. Items range from the earliest newspaper printed in Scotland to online titles running to thousands of pages.
 

Ethnic American Newspapers from the Bach Collection, 1799 - 1971

Database features newspapers from the former Balch Institute of Ethnic Studies and the collection of the Historical Society of Pennsylvania, including 130 fully searchable newspapers in 10 languages from 25 states with emphasis on Americans of Czech, French, German, Hungarian, Irish, Italian, Japanese, Jewish, Lithuanian, Polish, Slovak, and Welsh descent.
 

Irish Historical Newspapers

Irish Newspaper Archives contains electronic versions of Irish newspapers from the 1700s to the current day.
 

Causeway / Cabhsair: A Magazine of Irish and Scottish Writing

Causeway/Cabhsair publishes new writing by Irish and Scottish writers in all the languages of both countries and is run by Aberdeen University Press.