Leading Change in City Schools: Urban Education Reform in Action

Create an individual account for the New York Times using your Harvard e-mail address in order to access nytimes.com as well as the newspaper's mobile app.
Historical content is available in Factiva (Harvard Login) (from 1980) and ProQuest Historical Newspapers (Harvard Login) (1850-2017).

EdWeek Market Brief provides original reporting, analysis, proprietary data and research focused on education products and services for the PK-12 education field. The resource was created for both providers of education products and services and school district leaders. Requires an HUID to access.

Chalkbeat is a nonprofit news organization committed to covering one of America’s most important stories: the effort to improve schools for all children, especially those who have historically lacked access to a quality education.

InsideSchools helps families learn about NYC public schools

There are a couple of access options for The New Yorker. Please check date coverage, since they differ depending on database.

PELP case studies illuminate systems-level leadership challenges in large urban districts and education-related organizations. Together with research notes and teaching notes for instructors, the PELP case library is an extensive body of working knowledge for academics and practitioners alike. To get access to these case studies, please follow the directions on the page.

Includes information for standards/instruction, certification/licensing, data/reporting, etc.

Contains information for aspiring teachers (Pathways and Opportunities for Certified* Aspiring Teachers AND Pathways and Opportunities for Uncertified Aspiring Teachers)

NYSUT is a federation of more than 1,200 local unions, each representing its own members. They are affiliated with the American Federation of Teachers (AFT) and the National Education Association (NEA). They are also part of organized labor - the AFL-CIO - and of Education International, with more than 20 million members world wide.

Includes information and data on test results, graduation results, demographics, etc.

Includes reports, presentations, testimony, and other information.

The Student Safety Act requires quarterly reporting by the Department of Education and NYPD to the City Council on school safety and disciplinary issues, including incidents involving arrests and suspensions of students. It provides the public with raw data to study the impact of disciplinary practices and encourage the crafting of more effective policies. Each quarter, the NYCLU releases these reports along with fact sheets that provide an overview the data.

In one of the largest demonstrations of the Civil Rights movement, hundreds of thousands of parents, students and civil rights advocates took part in a citywide boycott of the New York City public school system to demonstrate their support for the full integration of the city's public schools and an end to de facto segregation.

An overview of the history of the NYC public schools since colonial period (1637-1783) to postcolonial period. Includes suggestions on keywords and resources outside of the New York Public Library.

School Colors is a narrative podcast from Brooklyn Deep about how race, class, and power shape American cities and schools.

Co-presented by InsideSchools and NYC Admissions Solutions, this webinar introduces 6th and 7th grade families to the public high school admissions process.

The call for Black Power takes various forms across communities in black America. In Cleveland, Carl Stokes wins election as the first black mayor of a major American city. The Black Panther Party, armed with law books, breakfast programs, and guns, is born in Oakland. Substandard teaching practices prompt parents to gain educational control of a Brooklyn school district but then lead them to a showdown with New York City's teachers' union.

This page provides an overview, videos, and links to learn more about how students get offers to New York City's DOE public schools.

Admissions Information for SY 2024-2025

The user can select a school to view more information.
You can navigate directly to a dataset or click on a school name to view profile information.

This organization bases their school reviews on both quantitative and qualitative information. For each school, we analyze the schools stats we publish from the Department of Education, listed in more detail below. They also read through the school's most recent Quality Review (formal evaluations by trained educators) and Comprehensive Educational Plan (annual plans written by school staff).

Let’s Talk Schools is a unique resource for families and education professionals that provides comprehensive, practical information on NYC schools—public, private, and charter—for your child's entire pre-college education, from nursery through high school.

At Advocates for Children of New York (AFC), we are dedicated exclusively to protecting every child’s right to an education, focusing on students from low-income backgrounds who are struggling in school or experiencing school discrimination of any kind.

The Independent Schools Admissions Association of Greater New York (ISAAGNY) is a consortium of more than 130 schools that serve the education communities of New York City, Westchester, and New Jersey. Our organization is the largest regional admissions organization of its kind in the country.