Find Images
HOLLIS Images
HOLLIS Images is the Harvard Library's dedicated image catalog. It includes content from archives, museums, libraries, and other collections throughout Harvard University.
Artstor on JSTOR
Artstor - available through JSTOR - is a growing nonprofit digital library of over 2 million rights-cleared images representing the arts, architecture, humanities, and social sciences. The digital images are discoverable alongside journals, books, and other primary sources in JSTOR, which features an accessible suite of software tools for teaching and research.
Alex S. MacLean Photograph Collection (HarvardKey Required)
Added to the Frances Loeb Library collections in 2011, this small collection of Alex MacLean’s work includes over 2,000 aerial photographs taken between 1967 and 2006. The photographs cover Boston and surrounding Massachusetts towns and cities, Providence, Rhode Island, and Washington, D.C.
American Landscape and Architectural Design, 1850-1920: A Study Collection
Consisting of nearly 3,000 lantern slide images assembled to support teaching and student presentations in architecture, landscape architecture, and urban planning, this collection at the Harvard Graduate School of Design’s Frances Loeb Library represents a historical view of American buildings and landscapes built from 1850 to 1920. The collection offers views of cities, specific buildings, parks, estates, and gardens, including a complete history of Boston's Park System. Among the architects and landscape architects whose work is included in the collection are Marian Cruger Coffin, Ralph Adams Cram, Cass Gilbert, H.H. Richardson, Louis Sullivan, Frank Lloyd Wright, and Frederick Law Olmsted, both Senior and Junior. This collection’s digitization was part of the Library of Congress’ American Memory Project.
Aerial Photos International, Inc.
The Frances Loeb Library holds a collection of 150,000 aerial photographs from Aerial Photos International Inc. (API) a Norwood, Massachusetts-based company founded in 1953 by Malcolm Woronoff. The images taken by API (1953-2002) offer researchers and scholars an unprecedented opportunity to study the growth of the Boston metropolitan area and eastern Massachusetts during the mid- to late 20th century. Researchers and scholars from multiple disciplines such as history, social sciences, cultural history, sociology, geography, and the art and design fields will make use of the images as primary source material documenting changing landscape and cityscape, evolving infrastructure, building/development trends, and population growth. A portion of the collection has been digitized and is made available through HOLLIS Images.