Landscape Architecture

The Harvard University Herbaria house five comprehensive, non-circulating research libraries that are managed collectively as the Botany Libraries. The combined collections are rich repositories of rare books, manuscripts, field notes, and historical correspondence, as well as current monographs, journals and electronic media.

Dumbarton Oaks is a Harvard University research institute, library, museum, and garden in Washington, DC. Dumbarton Oaks supports research and learning internationally in Byzantine, Garden and Landscape, and Pre-Columbian studies.

A 281-acre preserve in the heart of Boston, the Arnold Arboretum of Harvard University stewards one of the world’s most comprehensive and best documented collections of temperate woody plants, with particular focus on the floras of eastern North America and eastern Asia. The living collections, herbarium, and library and archives support research both in our own laboratories at Weld Hill and by scholars around the world.

Web Soil Survey (WSS) provides soil data and information produced by the National Cooperative Soil Survey. It is operated by the USDA Natural Resources Conservation Service (NRCS) and provides access to the largest natural resource information system in the world.

The Biodiversity Heritage Library (BHL) is the world’s largest open access digital library for biodiversity literature and archives. The BHL portal provides free access to hundreds of thousands of volumes, comprising over 60 million pages, from the 15th-21st centuries.

The Cultural Landscape Foundation (TCLF) educates and engages the public to study landscapes and better understand the individuals who created them. Its website provides a search portal of a database featuring hundreds of pioneers of American landscape design and their built works.

The City of Boston manages the Parks and Recreation department, which is responsible for City parks, playgrounds and athletic fields, golf courses, squares, fountains, game courts, historic and active cemeteries, urban wilds, high school athletic fields, and approximately 125,000 trees.

The Emerald Necklace Conservancy is a private non-profit stewardship organization founded in 1997 to maintain, restore and protect the parks of the Emerald Necklace designed by Frederick Law Olmsted for all to explore, use, and enjoy. The Conservancy's work involved projects and programs that enrich the visitor experience and restore and renew the landscape, waterways, and parkways.

The Olmsted Archives is one of the most widely researched museum collections in the National Park System, containing over 1,000,000 historic documents. With the Olmsted Research Guide Online (ORGO), you can search a single database for records held at the Olmsted National Historic Site and the Olmsted collections at the Library of Congress, which includes plans and drawings, photographs, lithographs, planting lists, and correspondence.

The Greenway is a contemporary public park located in several Downtown Boston neighborhoods. It consists of landscaped gardens, promenades, plazas, fountains, art, and specialty lighting systems.

The Charles River Conservancy is a nonprofit citizens advocacy group dedicated to the renewal and stewardship of the Charles River and its parks.