Find Primary Sources
What is a primary source?
A primary source is often called a "first-hand" account or "original" record. There are many types of primary sources, including letters, diaries, newspaper articles, oral histories, government and organizational records, photographs, film and video, sound recordings, and drawings.
Archival Collections at the Frances Loeb Library
The Archival Collections at GSD consist of primary source materials that further academic research in the design fields both within the GSD and beyond Harvard University. These materials, individually and collectively, offer engaging documentation of design history, theory, and practice.
HOLLIS for Archival Discovery
HOLLIS for Archival Discovery searches Harvard Library's special collections and archives catalog to find primary sources, such as letters, photographs, film and video, print items, digital materials, and objects. For tips on searching this database, visit the HOLLIS for Archival Discovery Guide.
ArchiveGrid
ArchiveGrid includes over 7 million records describing archival materials, bringing together information about historical documents, personal papers, family histories, and more.
AIA Historical Directory of American Architects
The AIA Historical Directory of American Architects provides information about US architects from the 19th and 20th centuries.
Smithsonian Archives of American Art
The Archives of American Art collects preserves and provides access to primary sources that document the history of the visual arts in America.