Research Guides: Architecture: Start your Architecture Research

Quick Links to Journals

BrowZine
BrowZine is a convenient new way to access many of the online journals Harvard Library subscribes to as well as many open access journals. Look for individual titles, search by title keyword, or see titles arranged by subject. Create an account to build your own bookshelf of favorite titles.
Detail Inspiration
Detail Inspiration is an image and reference database with thousands of projects from DETAIL Magazine. Each project is accompanied by DETAIL project documents, which can be downloaded as PDFs. Search filters include building type, material, construction and location
more...less...
Link goes to HOLLIS catalog record. Click "view online" (Harvard Key required).
El Croquis (online edition)
Online access to El Croquis (Harvard Key required)
USModernist® Library
The USModernist® Library is the world's largest open digital collection of major US 20th-century architecture magazines with approximately 2.7 million downloadable pages - all free to access. Titles include Progressive Architecture, Architectural Forum, Architectural Record, AIA Journal, Architect, Architecture, and more.

Search for books, many journal articles formerly available only in databases, journals, images, maps, manuscript and archival materials, videos, music and open access
Looking for articles in design journals? See article search options, below.

Compendex
Scientific and technical engineering research, covering all engineering disciplines. Includes citations and abstracts to thousands of engineering journals and conference proceedings.
CuminCAD
cumulative index of publications about computer aided architectural design. It includes bibliographic information about over 12,200 records from journals and conferences such as ACADIA, ASCAAD, CAADRIA, eCAADe, SiGraDi, CAAD futures, DDSS and others. All papers include full abstracts. Full texts, in PDF, of some 9,400 papers are also available.
Building Technology Heritage Library
The Building Technology Heritage Library (BTHL) is primarily a collection of American and Canadian, pre-1964 architectural trade catalogs, house plan books and technical building guides. Trade catalogs are an important primary source to document past design and construction practices. These materials can aid in the preservation and conservation of older structures as well as other research goals.

Web of Science
The Web of Science (citation indexes), published by the Institute for Scientific Information (ISI), is a multidisciplinary database, with searchable author abstracts, covering the journal literature of the sciences, social sciences and arts. It indexes major journals in these disciplines. Because the information stored about each article includes the article's cited reference list (often called its bibliography), you can also search the databases for articles that cite a known author or work.## ##The search interface at this web site provides access to Science Citation Index,Social Sciences Citation Index and Arts & Humanities Citation Index, as well as BIOSIS, CAB Abstracts, and Zoological Record.

Building Types Online (Harvard Login)
This database includes over 3500 vector-based plans and 120 thematic articles on 850 international case studies of projects published in 12 Birkhauser publications.

HOLLIS Images
HOLLIS Images is the Harvard Library's dedicated image catalog. It includes content from archives, museums, libraries, and other collections throughout Harvard University. Access to the catalog is open to the general public. Some images are restricted to the Harvard community; HarvardKey login required for access to restricted images.

ARTstor (HarvardKey Required)
Over 1 million images of art and architecture
ARTstor is a not-for-profit organization funded by the Andrew W. Mellon Foundation whose purpose is to develop a database of digital images and accompanying scholarly information for use in art history and other humanistic fields of learning, including the related social sciences. The ARTstor Digital Library includes approximately 300,000 images covering art, architecture, and archeology.

Getty Art and Architecture Thesaurus
Find alternate terms to expand your searching.

AIA Historical Directory of American Architects
Locate information about U.S. architects from the 19th and 20th centuries in the AIA Archives and elsewhere.
Smithsonian / Archives of American Art
This archives collects, preserves, and provides access to primary sources that document the history of the visual arts in America.