Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Globalization of American Legal Feminism

This guide was originally created to correspond to a course taught by Professor Janet Halley but can be used by anyone for whom the information is helpful. It is updated periodically.

Search for Articles, Working Papers, Studies and Other Digitized Texts

Contemporary Women's Issues

Includes journals, newsletters, research reports, pamphlets, newspapers, directories, guides, and fact sheets published in scholarly publications as well as published by government and non-profit agencies and international organizations, concerned with women's issues in over 190 countries. (Harvard ID and PIN required)

Gender Watch

The database provides abstracts and the full text of some 175 academic and scholarly journals, magazines, newspapers, newsletters, regional publications, books, booklets and pamphlets, conference proceedings, and government, non-governmental organization, and special reports. (Harvard ID and PIN required)

Gerritsen Collection: Women's History Online, 1543-1945

A collection of "books, pamphlets and periodicals reflecting the revolution of a feminist consciousness and the movement for women's rights." Includes over 4000 monographs, primarily in English, German, and French, plus 265 periodical titles. (Harvard ID and PIN required)

Studies on Women and Gender Abstracts

Provides access to abstracts of journal articles dating back to 1995. (Harvard ID and PIN required)

Women and Social Movements in the United States, 1600-2000.

This database should prove helpful for those interested in finding books, documents, images, scholarly essays, commentaries and bibliographies relating to the first and second waves of feminism in the United States. (Harvard ID and PIN required)

Women's Studies International

Citations and abstracts are drawn from a variety of essential women's studies databases which range in coverage from classic works & core studies to the latest scholarship in feminist research (Harvard ID and Pin required)

Search for Articles, Working Papers, Studies and Other Digitized Texts

Contemporary Women's Issues

Includes journals, newsletters, research reports, pamphlets, newspapers, directories, guides, and fact sheets published in scholarly publications as well as published by government and non-profit agencies and international organizations, concerned with women's issues in over 190 countries.

Gender Watch

The database provides abstracts and the full text of some 175 academic and scholarly journals, magazines, newspapers, newsletters, regional publications, books, booklets and pamphlets, conference proceedings, and government, non-governmental organization, and special reports.

Gerritsen Collection: Women's History Online, 1543-1945

A collection of "books, pamphlets and periodicals reflecting the revolution of a feminist consciousness and the movement for women's rights." Includes over 4000 monographs, primarily in English, German, and French, plus 265 periodical titles. (Harvard ID and PIN required)

Studies on Women and Gender Abstracts

Provides access to abstracts of journal articles dating back to 1995. (Harvard ID and PIN required)

Women and Social Movements in the United States, 1600-2000.

This database should prove helpful for those interested in finding books, documents, images, scholarly essays, commentaries and bibliographies relating to the first and second waves of feminism in the United States. (Harvard ID and PIN required)

Women's Studies International

Citations and abstracts are drawn from a variety of essential women's studies databases which range in coverage from classic works & core studies to the latest scholarship in feminist research (Harvard ID and Pin required)

Search for Legal Articles on Feminist Legal Thought

 LegalTrac

Indexes over 900 legal periodicals from US, Canada, UK, Australia and New Zealand, including all the major international and comparative law journals, since 1980.  (Harvard ID and PIN required)

Index to Foreign Legal Periodicals

Multilingual index to articles and book reviews appearing in approximately 540 legal journals published worldwide. Works best using Internet Explorer browser. (Harvard ID and PIN required)

 Index to Legal Periodicals and Books

Indexes over 500 journals from the United States, Canada, Ireland, Great Britain, Australia and New Zealand.  Coverage is from 1981 to present.  (HLS IP addresses only)