Secondary Sources, Context, and Background

Dictionaries, Directories, Encyclopedias, Handbooks

Selin., H., ed. 2008. Encyclopaedia of the history of science, technology, and medicine in non-western cultures. 2nd ed. Berlin; NY: Springer. 2 v.
HOLLIS record

East Asia

30 Years' Review of China's Science & Technology (1949-1979). Singapore: World Scientific, 1981, 313 pp.
--Essays reviewing fields and:

  • A chronicle of events in science and technology, pp. 151-228.
  • Brief introduction to periodicals and newspapers of the natural sciences, p. 229-270.
  • Name list of members of Academia Sinica departments, 271-273.
  • List of past scientists, pp. 274-301 [biographical sketches of 86 deceased scientists].
  • Prizes and certificates of merit in science, pp. 302-307.

Research Policy Library, Lund. 1966. Research Potential and Science Policy of the People's Republic of China: A Bibliography. New Delhi: Council of Scientific & Industrial Research, 39 pp.

Islamic

Kamal, Hassan. 1975. Encyclopaedia of Islamic Medicine, with a Greco-Roman Back-Ground. Cairo]: General Egyptian Book Organization.
HOLLIS Record

Hamarneh, S. K. 1995. Directory of Historians of Islamic Medicine and Allied Sciences. Ed. by S. S. al-Attas. Kuala Lumpur: International Institute of Islamic Thought and Civilization, 391 pp.
Includes chronology/summary of activities and bibliography for each person, as well as directory information.

Rashed, R., ed. 1996. Encyclopedia of the History of Arabic Science. 3 v. London: Routledge.

South Asia

Encyclopaedia of classical Indian sciences : natural science, technology, medicine, ed. by Helaine Selin and Roddam Narasimha. Hyderabad: Universities Press, 2007, 479 p. Lamont | REFERENCE | Q127.I4 E63 2007
--Articles on persons and topics.

Biographical Sources

East Asia

Dehergne, J. 1973. Repertoire des Jesuites de Chine de 1552 a 1800. (Bibliotheca Instituti Historici S.I., 37). Rome: Institutum Historicum S.I.; Paris: Letouzey & Ané, 430 pp. + pls.
--Compendium of biographical information, with references. Also includes a list of Jesuit accomplishments, list of heads of the Board of Astronomy, a chronology, etc.

Pfister, L. 1976. Notices biographiques et bibliographiques sur les jesuites de l'ancienne mission de Chine, 1552-1773. 2 v. in 1. San Francisco: Chinese Materials Center (Reprint series, no. 57), 1108 pp. Reprint of the 1932-34 ed. published by Impr. de la Mission catholique, Shanghai, which was issued as no. 59-60 of Variétés sinologiques.

Islamic

Karimullah and A. R. Ghani. 1989. Biographical Notes on Eminent Muslim Scientists of South-Asia in the 14th century Hijra. Vol. 1. Islamabad: Pakistan Science Foundation and Pakistan Academy of Sciences, 131 pp.
--Volume 1: 1877-1979. 6 scientists. Includes lists of primary sources.

Said, H. M. 1991. Medieval Muslim Thinkers and Scientists. Delhi: Renaissance Pub. House.

Suter, H. 1900. Die Mathematiker und Astronomen der Araber und ihre Werke: : bio-bibliografische Ubersicht von Wissenschaftlern der arabischen Welt, vom achten bis zum siebzehnten Jahrhundert ; mit Namenregister, ausfuhrlichen Nachtragen und Berichtigungen Versehen. (Abhandlungen zur Geschichte der mathematischen Wissenschaften mit Einschluss ihrer Anwendungen, 10. Hft.) Leipzig: B.G. Teubner, 277 pp. Reprints, NY: Johnson Reprint Corp., 1972; Amsterdam: APA -Oriental Press, 1981.
--Brief biographies of 528 individuals.
--Renaud, H.P.J. 1932. Additions et corrections a Suter "Die Mathematiker und Astronomen der Araber." Isis, no 52, vol. XVIII, no. 1, (no. 52, July), pp. 166-183.

South Asia

Chattopadhyay, A. 1995. Encyclopaedia of Indian Scientists (From Ancient to Contemporary). New Delhi: Reliance Publishing House, 272 pp. Not at Harvard

Indian National Science Academy. 1994. Fellows of the Indian National Science Academy, 1935-1993: Biographical Notes. 2nd ed. 2 vols. New Delhi: The Academy, 1994.

Karimullah and A. R. Ghani. 1989. Biographical Notes on Eminent Muslim Scientists of South-Asia in the 14th century Hijra. Vol. 1. Islamabad: Pakistan Science Foundation and Pakistan Academy of Sciences, 131 pp.
--Volume 1: 1877-1979. 6 scientists. Includes lists of primary sources.

Bibliographies of Books and Articles

Allchin, D. and R. DeKosky, eds. 2008. An Introduction to the History of Science in Non-Western Traditions. 2nd ed.
--Short essays with substantial bibliographies covering both traditional and modern science in China, Japan, India, Africa, Native America, Latin America, Australia and the Pacific.

Conklin, H. C. 1972. Folk Classification: A Topically Arranged Bibliography of Contemporary and Background References through 1971. New Haven, CT: Dept. of Anthropology, Yale University, 501 pp.
--Unannotated, unindexed bibliography in 10 sections: principles of classification, kinship and related topics, archeology, anthropology, ethnobotany, ethnozoology, ethnomedicine, orientation (temporal, spatial, astronomical classification), color, sensation.

Selin, H. 1992. Science across Cultures: An Annotated Bibliography of Books on Non-Western Science, Technology, and Medicine. NY: Garland, 431 pp.

Africa

Plug, C. 1990. Publications on the History of South African Science: Annotated Bibliography to the End of 1987. Pretoria: University of South Africa (Studia Composita 7), 187 pp.

East Asia/Pacific

Dean, G. C. 1974. Science and Technology in the Development of Modern China: An Annotated Bibliography. Research aids of the East Asian Institute. London: Mansell Information Publishing, 265 pp.

Selected secondary books, articles, dissertations, and some unpublished papers in European languages on post-1949 science and technology, published 1960-1972. Appendixes cover, less thoroughly, pre-1949 modern science and traditional science. Arranged by subject with author indexes. There is a separate author index of primary works, i.e. observations by foreign travelers and translated Chinese documents. Continues and expands coverage in:

Research Policy Library, Lund. 1966. Research Potential and Science Policy of the People's Republic of China: A Bibliography. New Delhi: Council of Scientific & Industrial Research, 39 pp.

Eade, E. 1992. Preliminary Bibliography on Traditional Science and Technology in the Pacific islands: Partly Annotated. Suva, Fiji: Pacific Information Centre, University of the South Pacific Library, 104 pp.

Selected, Annotated Bibliography of Chinese Science and Medicine: Works in Western Languages.

Islamic Countries

Daiber, H. 1999. Bibliography of Islamic Philosophy. 2 v. Handbuch der Orientalistik. Erste Abteilung, der Nahe und Mittlere Osten, 43. Bd. Leiden, Boston: Brill.
--Vol. 1: Alphabetical author list; v. 2: Index of names, Terms and Topics. Includes primary and secondary works in Western and Non-Western languages. Book reviews selectively included.

​Hamarneh, S. K. 1995. Directory of Historians of Islamic Medicine and Allied Sciences. Ed. by S. S. al-Attas. Kuala Lumpur: International Institute of Islamic Thought and Civilization, 391 pp.
--Includes chronology/summary of activities and bibliography for each person, as well as directory information.

Janssens, J. L. 1991. An Annotated Bibliography of Ibn Sina (1970-1989) including Arabic and Persian Publications and Turkish and Russian References. (Ancient and medieval philosophy. Series 1 ; 13). Leuven, Belgium: Leuven University Press, 358 pp.

Mieli, A. 1966. La science arabe et son rôle dans l'évolution scientifique mondiale. Leyden: Brill, 467 pp. [Reprint of 1939 original with new bibliography and analytical index by A. Mazaheri]

Nasr, S. H. 1975-78. An Annotated Bibliography of Islamic Science. 2 v. Tehran: Imperial Iranian Academy of Philosophy. Reprint, Lahore: Suhail Academy, 1985.

Native American

Osterreich, S. A. 1998. Native North American Shamanism: An Annotated Bibliography. Westport, CT: Greenwood Press, 109 pp.

South Asia

Wilson, P. 1966. Science in South Asia, Past & Present: A Preliminary Bibliography of Writings on Science in India, Pakistan and Ceylon. (Foreign Area Materials Center. Occasional publication no. 3) NY: University of the State of New York, State Education Dept., 100 pp.
​--Includes medicine and technology.

Astronomy

Collea, B. A. & A. F. Aveni. 1978, 1982 (supplement). A Selected Bibliography on Native American Astronomy. Hamilton, NY: Colgate University, Dept. of Physics and Astronomy, 148, 29 pp.
--Supplement not at Harvard

Ho, Peng Yoke. 1977. Modern Scholarship on the History of Chinese Astronomy. Canberra: Faculty of Asian Studies (Occasional paper 16), Australian National University, 66 pp.

Aschoff, J. C. 1996. Annotated Bibliography of Tibetan Medicine (1789-1995). Ulm: Fabri Verlag; Dietikon: Garuda Verlag, 426 pp.

Goldstein, M. 1933. Internationale Bibliographie der altaegyptischen Medizin, 1850-1930. Berlin-Charlottenburg: Aegyptologischer verlag M. Goldstein, 48 pp.
--243 items listed chronologically under subjects, name index.

Hamarneh, S. K. 1964. Bibliography on Medicine and Pharmacy in Medieval Islam. (Veroffentlichungen der Internationalen Gesellschaft fur Geschichte der Pharmazie, n.f., Bd. 25) Stuttgart, Wissenschaftliche Verlagsgesellschaft, 204 pp.

Primary Sources

Bibliographies of Books and Articles

Africa

Walraet, M. 1966. Les sciences au Rwanda. Bibliographie (1894-1965). (Academie royale des sciences d'outre-mer. Classe des sciences morales et politiques. [Mémoires in-8] Nouv. sr., t. 34, fasc. 5) Bruxelles, 211 pp.

Asia

Honda, S. 1982. Pre-Meiji Works in the Library of Congress: Japanese Mathematics: A Bibliography. (Asian Division bibliographic series, no. 1). Washington, DC: Library of Congress, 64 pp.

India

Rahman, A., M. A. Alvi, S. A. Khan Ghori & K. V. Samba Murthy. 1982. Science and Technology in Medieval India - A Bibliography of Source Materials in Sanskrit, Arabic and Persian. New Delhi: Indian National Science Academy, 719 pp.

Pingree, D. 1970, 1971, 1976, 1981, 1994. Census of the Exact Sciences in Sanskrit. 5 v. Philadelphia, PA: American Philosophical Society Memoirs, 81, 86, 111, 146, 213. [References to published and unpublished sources; bio-bibliographical information]

Sen, S. N., A. K. Bag, & S. Rajeswar Sarma. 1966. A Bibliography of Sanskrit Works on Astronomy and Mathematics. V. 1. (National Commission for the Compilation of History of Sciences in India. Source Materials Series) New Delhi: National Institute of Sciences of India.
--Not at Harvard

Walravens, H. 1994. Catalogue of Chinese Books and Manuscripts in the Library of The Wellcome Institute for the History of Medicine. London: Wellcome Institute for the History of Medicine, 169 pp.

Islamic Countries

Agha, Z. M. 1983. Bibliography of Islamic Medicine and Pharmacy. London: Distributed by E.J. Brill, 108 pp.
--Titles in Arabic, abstracts in English, French, German, Italian, and Spanish.

Sánchez Pérez, J. A. 1954. La ciencia árabe en la Edad Media. Madrid: Instituto de Estudios Africanos, C.S.I.C., 181 pp. [Bio-bibliography]

Carmody, F. J. 1956. Arabic Astronomical and Astrological Sciences in Latin Translation: A Critical Bibliography. Berkeley, CA: University of California Press, 193 pp.
--Each Arabic work has brief notes on its contents and significance, each translation indicates the manuscript(s) used. Indexes of incipits and of proper names and technical topics.

Daiber, H. 1999. Bibliography of Islamic Philosophy. 2 v. (Handbuch der Orientalistik. Erste Abteilung, der Nahe und Mittlere Osten, 43. Bd.) Leiden, Boston: Brill.
--Vol. 1: Alphabetical author list; v. 2: Index of names, Terms and Topics. Includes primary and secondary works in Western and Non-Western languages. Book reviews selectively included.

Janssens, J. L. 1991. An Annotated Bibliography of Ibn Sina (1970-1989) including Arabic and Persian Publications and Turkish and Russian References. (Ancient and medieval philosophy. Series 1 ; 13). Leuven, Belgium: Leuven University Press, 358 pp.