Images

A list of general sources for images is available in the Library Research Guide for History.

 

General

Science & Society Picture Library offers over 50,000 images from the Science Museum (London), the National Museum of Photography, Film & Television and the National Railway Museum.

Edgar Fahs Smith Collection of Images contains over 3,000 images of scientists, laboratories, and scientific apparatus. A selection of these prints, engravings, and photographs is reproduced on this site. Photographs of any of these images may be ordered from an on-line order form.

NYPL Digital Gallery Pictures of Science: 700 Years of Scientific and Medical Illustration

Smithsonian Institution Collections Search Center

Government Resources for Science Images (1910-1940)

National Geographic Photo Archive

The following books provide illustrations drawn from primary sources for the periods indicated, together with pictures of contemporary scientific instruments.

    • Murdoch, J. E. 1984. Antiquity and the Middle Ages. (Album of Science) NY: Scribner's, 403 pp.
    • Cohen, I. B. 1980. From Leonardo to Lavoisier, 1450-1800. (Album of Science) NY: Scribner's, 306 pp.
    • Williams, L. P. 1978. The Nineteenth Century. (Album of Science) NY: Scribner's, 413 pp.
    • Gingerich, O. 1989. The Physical Sciences in the Twentieth Century. (Album of Science) NY: Scribner's, 306 pp.
    • Borell, M. 1989. The Biological Sciences in the Twentieth Century. (Album of Science) NY: Scribner's, 306 pp.

Astronomy

Astronomical Images: "Diagrams, Figures, and the Transformation of Astronomy, 1450-1650" 

Physics

American Institute of Physics, Emilio Segre Visual Archives (Yale)

Contributions of 20th Century Women to Physics Annotated Portrait Gallery

Chemistry

Chemical Heritage Foundation Image Archive

Edgar Fahs Smith History of Chemistry Collection

Royal Society of Chemistry Images Collection

Theatrum Chemicum

Environmental

American landscape and architectural design, 1850-1920Visual Resources Department, Frances Loeb Library, Harvard Graduate School of Design, 1998- . In: American Memory, Library of Congress.
--About 2800 slides.

Forest History Society Image Database

Includes numerous USDA Forest Service photographs, 1880s-1970s.

Life Sciences

Human and Social Sciences

Image Archive on the American Eugenics Movement (1910-1940)

Medicine

Cushing/Whitney Medical Digital Library (Yale)

Historical Images in Medicine. History of Medicine Collections, Duke University

Images from the History of Medicine (IHM) includes prints and photographs from the History of Medicine Division (HMD), U.S. National Library of Medicine (NLM).

Images From the History of the Public Health Service: a Photographic Exhibit. National Library of Medicine.

Index of Medieval Medical Images offers records of manuscripts from six North American libraries.

National Library of Medicine (NLM), Online Exhibitions & Digital Projects

Wellcome Images

Agriculture

Technology

Film

A list of general sources for films, television and radio is available in the motion pictures/television/radio section of the Library Research Guide for History

Environmental

Bouse, D. 2000. A chronology of highlights from the history of wildlife and natural history films. Appendix (pp. 195-222) in his Wildlife Films. Philadelphia: University of Pennsylvania Press, 280 pp.

Human and Social Scienecs

The Celluloid Couch: An Annotated International Filmography of the Mental Health Professional in the Movies and Television, from the beginning to 1990, by L. Y. Rabkin. Lanham, MD: Scarecrow Press, 1998, 627 pp.

Medicine

HOLLIS Subject Terms Useful for Medical Film/Television:

Subject Terms:
Medicine on television.
Medical television programs.
Health in mass media.
Television in health education.
Journalism, Medical.
Medical Subject Terms:
Mass Media.
Ethics, Medical.
Journalism, Medical.
Motion Pictures as Topic – history

University of Michigan Historical Health Film Collection

Paietta, A. C. and J. Kauppila. 1999. Health Professionals on Screen. Lanham, MD: Scarecrow Press, 430 pp.
--Short descriptions of motion pictures and televison films and series, with subject index.