Digital Libraries and Collections
Sources for general digital libraries and collections are listed in Library Research Guide for History.
Digital Libraries/Collections by Subject
- General
- Mathematics
- Astronomy
- Physics
- Chemistry
- Geography
- Biology
- Botany
- Zoology
- Human and Social Sciences
- Medicine
- Agriculture
Expeditions and Discoveries (1626-1953) documents nine Harvard–associated expeditions of scientific discovery in anthropology and archaeology, astronomy, botany, and oceanography. Contains published work, manuscripts and records, visual sources and maps from 14 Harvard repositories.
Nineteenth Century Collection Online is an enormous collection of digitized microfilm collections and newly digitized material. It consists of 12 segments. Links below lead to segment overviews with a list of included collections at the bottom of the page. Includes:
- Science, Technology and Medicine, 1780 - 1925 (More information below)
- Science, Technology and Medicine, 1780-1925 Part II
HOLLIS records for items in this collection of which Harvard holds print or microfilm versions are NOT linked to the online version.
This massive collection includes some 3.5 million journals, books, reports and personal documents covering “every aspect of 19th Century science” and representing theoretical as well as practical and popular science. It’s based in large part on the holdings of the Huntington Library (including the Burndy Library), the Library of Congress, National Library of Medicine, Academy of Natural Sciences of Philadelphia (now at Drexel University), and other libraries.
The two Science, Technology and Medicine, 1780-1925 segments are composed of 14 parts, largely discipline focused, containing full text searchable digitized monographs and periodicals. American Medical Periodicals (1.2 million pages) contains over 1200 periodicals from the National Library of Medicine. There is archival material in:
Academy of Natural Sciences of Philadelphia: Minutes and Correspondence (in Part 1) This is the only published version of these documents, which include minutes, correspondence, archival collection summaries, membership lists, and donation ledgers from the Academy's founding in 1812 until 1925.
The Rise of Public Health in England And Wales (1805-1900) (in Part II) includes governmental public health records of various public health boards. Individual records also. All information from the National Archives.
South Seas: Voyaging and Cross-Cultural Encounters in the Pacific (1760-1800)
Social Theory (1822-1990s) presents major works by several sociological authors.