Periodical Literature Indexes

Some of these indexes contain references only to articles in journals while others include references to essays and papers in conference proceedings, multi-author monographs, Festschriften, and dissertations. 

AATA Online: Abstracts of International Conservation Literature

AATA Online provides high quality, editorially-reviewed abstracts of the international literature of conservation and heritage management. Updated quarterly, AATA Online currently includes abstracts of over 100,000 citations. More than 470 journals are indexed in AATA Online. The database is searchable by keywords or phrases and employs proximity features. Free registration allows advanced searching and the creation of publication alert services.

Art Full Text is a bibliographic database that indexes and abstracts periodicals and includes full-text coverage for selected titles. Indexing coverage includes English-language periodicals, yearbooks, and museum bulletins, as well as periodicals published in French, Italian, German, Japanese, Spanish, Dutch, and Swedish. In addition to articles, Art Full Text indexes reproductions of works of art that appear in indexed periodicals. Indexing coverage begins 1984; abstracting coverage begins with January 1994. The abstracts range from 50 to 300 words and describe the content and scope of the source articles. Full-text coverage begins in 1997. Art Full Text and Art Index Retrospective may be searched simultaneously.


Art Index Retrospective is a periodical literature database that cumulates citations from the printed version of the Wilson Art Index, volumes 1-32 (1929-1984). The database cites articles from periodicals, yearbooks, and museum bulletins internationally in English, French, Italian, German, Spanish, and Dutch publications. In addition to articles, Art Index Retrospective also indexes reproductions of works of art that appear in the periodicals covered. Subjects covered in the Art Index Retrospective include archaeology, architecture and architectural history, art history, painting, sculpture, photography, decorative arts, folk art, crafts, antiques, graphic arts, industrial design, interior design, landscape architecture, motion pictures, museum studies, non-western art, advertising and television. Exhibition and book reviews are included. Art Index Retrospective & Art Full Text may be searched simultaneously.


Contains abstracts of journal articles, books, essays, exhibition catalogs, dissertations, and exhibition reviews. The scope extends from artists and movements beginning with Impressionism in the late 19th century, up to the most recent works and trends in the late 20th century. Photography is covered from its invention in 1839 to the present. Particular emphasis is placed on adding new and lesser-known artists and on the coverage of foreign-language literature. Approximately 13,000 new entries are added each year. Covers all aspects of modern and contemporary art, including performance art and installation works, video art, computer and electronic art, body art, graffiti, artists' books, theater arts, crafts, jewelry, illustration, and more, as well as the traditional fine arts of painting, printmaking, sculpture, and drawing.


The Avery Index to Architectural Periodicals indexes more than 2,500 international periodicals on archeology, city planning, interior design, and historic preservation, as well as architecture. Coverage begins in the 1930s (with selective coverage dating back to the 1860s) and extends to the present. A complete list of journal titles indexed is available on the website.


Bibliography of the History of Art: BHA

The Bibliography of the History of Art indexes and abstracts art-related books, conference proceedings and dissertations, exhibition and dealer's catalogs, and journal articles from more than 2,500 periodicals. Coverage extends to European and American art from late antiquity to the present. This index provides the most comprehensive coverage of American and international scholarly journals in the disciplines of art and architectural history. It also contains an important earlier periodical index, the Répertoire international de la littérature de l'art (RILA). Current coverage is 1975-2007. The BHA will be continued by the International Bibliography of Art which is now available.


caa.reviews

caa.reviews publishes timely scholarly and critical reviews of studies and projects in all areas and periods of art history, visual studies, and the fine arts, providing peer review for the disciplines served by the College Art Association. Publications and projects reviewed include books, articles, exhibitions, conferences, and other works as appropriate. It also publishes essays on these subjects, as well as on art education and policy and related topics.


CHIN (Canadian Heritage Information Network)

Provides access to reference information and bibliographic databases on topics such as conservation, cultural heritage and museum studies. Compiled by institutions including the Canadian Conservation Institute, the Getty Conservation Institute, the International Centre for the Study of the Conservation and Restoration of Cultural Property, the Conservation Analytical Laboratory of the Smithsonian Institution, the International Council on Monuments and Sites, and the International Council of Museums. Includes the Guide to Canadian Museums and Galleries containing information about museum collections across Canada and links to other heritage information sites around the world.


DYABOLA

Electronic database version of the periodical and monographic literature citation index compiled by the German Archaeological Institute in Rome covering the years 1958-present. Covers Classical, Egyptian, and Near Eastern archaeology as well as Byzantine art history, numismatics, epigraphy, and ancient history. When entering this resource, place a check in the box labelled, "activate IP access" and click the "start" button.


Academic Search Premier (ASP) is a multi-disciplinary database that includes citations and abstracts from over 4,500 scholarly publications (journals, magazines and newspapers). Full-text is available for more than 3,500 of the publications and is searchable. Indexing and full text availability varies with title. The most complete coverage begins in the 1990s. A wide variety of art history journals is included in this database.


The Index to 19th-Century American Art Periodicals indexes 42 art journals published in the US during the 1800s, providing nearly complete coverage of journals from this period. The Index describes the entire journal contents - articles, art notes, illustrations, stories, poems, and advertisements - and offers information on popular culture and industry, artists and illustrators, painting, sculpture, drawing, photography, architecture and design, exhibitions and sales, decorations, and collecting. The file contains 27,000 citations and contains many records with abstracts.


International Bibliography of the History of Art (IBA)

The International Bibliography of the History of Art is the successor to the Bibliography of the History of Art (BHA) and includes the most recent indexing created by the Getty Research Institute for the BHA during 2008-2011. ProQuest will continue to add approximately 25,000 new entries each year and will index at least 500 journals. Coverage of monographs, essay collections, conference proceedings, and exhibition catalogues will also be included. The BHA, now available directly from the Getty Research Institute, provides the most comprehensive coverage of American and international scholarly journals in the disciplines of art and architectural history from 1975-2007.


JSTOR is a not-for-profit organization initially funded by the Andrew W. Mellon Foundation, dedicated to the development of a digital library in support of the arts and sciences. JSTOR is comprised of the full-text of more than 1,000 academic journals covering a wide range of disciplines. Approximately 165 art, architectural history, and archaeology titles are included. JSTOR supports browsing by issue and full-text searching in individual journals or entire subject collections. JSTOR has recently released a new user interface which provides the ability to extract and view images from articles in a search result and to link to related images in ARTstor.


LexisNexis Academic

LexisNexis Academic provides access to thousands of news, business, legal, and medical publications and information sources, including: newspapers, newsletters, magazines, trade journals, wire services, and broadcast transcripts. The strength of this collection is the simultaneous access it allows to long runs of national and international newspapers. Lexis is a great resource for finding exhibition notices and reviews, art and architectural criticism, auction reports, and arts legal issues. LexisNexis Academic’s international offerings include resources in French, Italian, and German.


Periodicals Contents Index Online (PCI)

Periodical Contents Index (PCI) is an index to the contents of thousands of journals in the humanities and social sciences. Coverage begins with the initial journal issue. PCI covers journals from North America, the United Kingdom and the rest of the English-speaking world and journals in other European languages including French, German, Italian and Spanish. A number of the major art history journals are included in this database. PCI includes the complete table of contents for each issue of each journal. Bibliographic records are also included for the journals themselves and every journal is indexed under one or more of 37 subject headings e.g.: Art & Architecture, History, Law, Literature, Religion, etc. PCI now contains many links to full-text articles.


ProQuest Historical Newspapers Collection

Full-text and keyword searching of the complete New York Times from 1851- 2001. Proquest Historical Newspapers also includes historical content from the Los Angeles Times, Washington Post, Chicago Tribune, and San Francisco Chronicle, among other U.S. newspapers. Search results include the option of displaying complete page images or plain text. 

Répertoire d'Art et d'Archéologie (RAA)

In 2012, the Institut National d'Histoire de l'Art (INHA) released of a full-text digital version of the Répertoire d'art et archéologie (RAA), a foundational periodical literature index for history of art and architecture, which covers the years 1911-1972.


Times Digital Archive (1785-1985)

This database contains all issues of the London Times, 1785-1985, in full text and image, including news, features, editorials and commentary, advertising, pictures and illustrations. Searching is by keyword in the full-text.