Research Guides: Musical Theater Research Guide: Find Recordings

Find Recordings in HOLLIS

Search for recordings in HOLLIS using performer, composer or ensemble name, and the title of the album or track

Use a keyword search or the Advanced Search form.
Refine your results by format, using the pre-search limit (in Advanced Search) or the limits to the left of the results list.

Learn more tips in our HOLLIS Help guide.

Music Online
A family of audio and video collections, including African American Song, African American Music Reference, American Song, and Dance in Video. Recordings cover a wide variety of genres of popular music.
Music Online will offer more than 400,000 audio tracks, 400,000 scores, 100,000 pages of music reference, and over 500 hours of video. Every object in the collection is indexed for subjects, historical events, genres, people, cultural groups, places, time periods, ensembles. As a result, students and scholars can combine keyword and fielded search capabilities to frame creative and highly targeted queries. Users can also select to view a single database by using the dropdown menu at the bottom of the homepage of Music Online (publisher website) Alexander Street databases included:##•African American Music Reference##•American Song##•Classical Music Library##•Classical Music Reference Library##•Contemporary World Music##•Dance in Video##•The Garland Encyclopedia of World Music Online##•Opera in Video.

Naxos Music Library
Classical, world, jazz, and folk recordings; biographical information about selected composers and performers; glossaries and pronunciation guides.

Database of Recorded American Music
DRAM is a collection focused on independent label American recordings: folk, opera, Native American, jazz, 19th century classical, early rock, musical theater, electronic, and contemporary music.
Recordings of American music (with liner notes, essays, bibliographies, and discographies) on important labels such as New World Records, Composers Recordings, Inc. and more (7,500 compositions). Includes folk, opera, Native American, jazz, 19th century classical, early rock, musical theater, electronic, contemporary. Searchable by composer, performer, date, keyword and linked to repositories for sheet music.
Theatre in Video
Theatre in Video provides more than 250 performances of some of the world's leading plays, together with more than 100 film documentaries, online in streaming video.
250 performances of some of the world's leading plays, together with more than 100 film documentaries, online in streaming video.

Use discographies to find what recordings exist for a show or show tune:

Show Music on Record (1890s-2010)
A discography of songs performed by members of original, revival, and studio casts of American stage, screen, and television shows, as well as foreign shows and musical films produced or shown in the United States. Covers recordings from the 1890s-December, 2010.