Research Guide for Chinese Studies

Works best with Internet Explorer.

This site, maintained by the Academia Sinica in Taiwan, consists of a large collection of searchable, full-text databases covering the breadth of Chinese history and culture.
Access: Most of the databases, 漢籍全文資料庫, 古漢語語料庫, 臺灣文獻叢刊, 清代經世文編, 中華民國史事日誌, 新民說, 內閣漢文題本專題檔案:刑科婚姻類提要, 文心雕龍, 佛經三論, 姚際恒著作集, 泉翁大全集, 正統道藏, 詞話集成, 新清史-本紀, 樂府詩集, etc. may be accessed freely.
Note: The 清實錄, 明實錄 is available in the 漢籍全文資料庫 under the "Histories" 史書 section.
Texts and Editions: Many of the databases provide information about the texts included and the editions used only in the lists of links or in the front matter to the electronic texts. It is necessary to click through the database levels or the texts themselves to find the information. For the Han ji quan wen zi liao ku 漢籍全文資料庫, however, you may keyword search for a particular work by title 書名.

Provides English translations of references in the Ming dynastic annals (明實錄) to areas in Southeast Asia and polities associated with this region which are now part of the People's Republic of China. The collection can be browsed chronologically by Western date or Chinese reign date. Indexes of places and personal names are provided, with links to relevant entries. The text may also be searched for specific terms.

Text encoding in Extension set to Big5

For a blog post that may be redistributed across the Confederation, please see the following: https://ivpluslibraries.org/2020/09/iplc-launches-the-greater-china-archival-resources-web-archive/.

An online resource containing nearly 1,500 declassified documents on the international relations of the People’s Republic of China (PRC) since 1949. The freely-accessible database fills the critical need for sources and reliable information relating to China’s foreign policies. Documents in the new database--the vast majority available with English translation--include diplomatic cables, high level correspondence, meeting minutes, and other internal documents retrieved from dozens of archives around the world. It presents a wealth of new information, including a compelling timeline of major events in China’s foreign relations, and more than 25 curated collections focusing on topics such as China’s alliance with North Korea, the 1962 Sino-Indian War, the tumultuous Cultural Revolution, and the rise and fall of communist solidarity between China and the Soviet Union.

The Chinese Foreign Policy Database is maintained by the Wilson Center’s History and Public Policy Program and supported by the MacArthur Foundation. The archival materials featured on the Database have been obtained through collaborative research undertaken by an international team of historians, political scientists, and students.

https://www.thewirechina.com/

How to access to digital images?
1. First time user needs to create an account at https://familysearch.org
2. Click
3. Follow the instruction and fill out the form to create your account
Conduct a search on Family History Library Catalog
1. Go back to https://familysearch.org/films and Sign In
2. Click then select then Search by using several search key(s)
When you find a material, click the item record. You may see either of the following examples.

Case 1: Click the icon of camera, and you may see the microfilm images.

Case 2: Click “here”, and the system will download a pdf file of a digital version.

http://ezp-prod1.hul.harvard.edu/login?url=https://fz.wanfangdata.com.cn

Open Harvard VPN to access (off-campus).
Access for contents suspended from 2023.4.1.

Extensive digital library of books from academic libraries in China, hosted at Zhejiang University Library 浙江大学图书馆. Texts are not searchable. Need to register individual account to view the texts. 需要注册登录CADAL账户以浏览全文.
总库涵盖： 古籍, 民国图书, 民国期刊, 现代图书, 学位论文, 报纸, 英文材料等.
报纸部分包括: 福建日报, 浙江日报, 云南日报, 江西日报等.

共3889筆. 其中雙紅堂藏書以眀情戲曲小說古籍為主, 約550部, 戲曲類380部, 小說類172部, 共3365冊.

含經部,史部, 子部, 集部, 新學部, 松本文庫, 及內藤文庫等7種分類, 114部典籍.

Extensive digital library of books from academic libraries in China, hosted at Zhejiang University Library 浙江大学图书馆. Texts are not searchable. Need to register individual account to view the texts. 需要注册登录CADAL账户以浏览全文.
总库涵盖： 古籍, 民国图书, 民国期刊, 现代图书, 学位论文, 报纸, 英文材料等.
报纸部分包括: 福建日报, 浙江日报, 云南日报, 江西日报等.