Bertsch papers [HOLLIS: 990135887780203941]A collection of Leonard Bertsch, a political advisor of US Army Millitary Government in Korea, that of correspondence, documents, notes, periodicals, army records, etc. mostly related to Korean political situation after Korea's independence, or a few related to the understanding of Korean culture. Press summaries from Korean newspaper companies and Korean periodicals in their 1940s and 50s occupy a lot of the collection.
James H. Hausman Archive, 1946-1981 [HOLLIS: 990090382890203941]James H. Hausman (1918-1996) served with the U.S. armed forces in Korea from 1946-1981. He went to Korea in 1946, but returned to the U.S. to serve at the U.S. Dept. of Defense in 1950 at the outbreak of the Korean War as an expert on Korean military affairs. He returned to Korea in 1956 and served as the Special Advisor to the Commander-in-Chief to the United Nations Command for the next 25 years. Archive consists of materials including awards, letters, official documents, and photographs.
Papers of George A. and Geraldine Fitch [HOLLIS: 990006036670203941]George and Geraldine Fitch were Americans who were active with the Y.M.C.A. and other service organizations in China and Korea from 1909 to 1949. Papers include documents and correspondence. Significant correspondents are Syngman Rhee, Chiang Kai-shek, and Eleanor Roosevelt. Subjects concern the establishment of an independent republic of Korea, and reflect the Fitchs' involvement in the Y.M.C.A., Chinese industrial cooperatives, and UNRRA Yellow River Diversion Project.
Gregory Henderson Papers on Korea [HOLLIS: 990056833640203941]Archive includes 11 Boxes of Henderson papers on Korea. Gregory Henderson was a former Foreign Service Officer and a specialist on Korea. Gregory Henderson, who held graduate and undergraduate degrees from Harvard University, was a research associate at the John K. Fairbank Center for East Asian Research at Harvard University. He served with the United States Foreign Service at posts in Washington and in South Korea, Germany and Japan.
Papers, 1945-1947 by Gillette, F. E. (Francis Edwin) [HOLLIS: 990073035050203941]Papers are related to the United States Army Military Government in Korea, 1945-1948. Subjects include Korean politics, election, national security, documents on repatriation and welfare, and agricultural matters. The papers are arranged in 8 series by subjects: 1. Daily events of M.G. in Korea. 2. Report of North Korea. 3. Rice collection. 4. Fisheries. 5. Property custody. 6. Health issues. 7. General welfare. 8. 5.10 election.
Blanche Stevens : letters, postcards, photographs of Korea [HOLLIS: 990141681420203941]This is a donation from Mr. James Carlson of his grandmother's pictures, postcards and letters from Blanche I. Stevens, cousins of his grandmother, principal of the Posung Girl's School in Sŏnch’ŏn, Korea during the 1930s. These resources were found very interesting and valuable in the light of studying local history of Sŏnch’ŏn, North Korea, and made contribution for the promotion of modern Korean historical research at Harvard University.
Cole, David C. (Chamberlin) (1928-) archives 1965-2016 [HOLLIS: 990149794800203941]The collection includes 12 books, 11 papers, 1 folder, 89 slides, 135 photographs, 2 DVDs, 7 DVD-Rs, 2 USB drives, 1 map, and 1 commemorative plaque. The items pertain to David C. Cole's work on Korean developement and ecomonics. There is also a focus on how economics and politics relate in Korea, as well as greater Asia. The folder contains lists of materials transferred to the Harvard University Archives, and correspondence related to the transfer. DVD-R contains an unpublished manuscript.
Korean scenes from 1952Vimeo of photos by David C. Cole from when he was serving in the US Army in Korea in 1952 plus recent narrative description of them by him
Edward W. Wagner personal archive, 1942-1998Edward Willett Wagner (1924-2001) was Professor of Korean Studies at Harvard for thirty-five years and was a pioneer in the study of Korean history in the United States. A specialist in pre-modern Korean history, Wagner's research centered on the study of the elite structure of Korea’s Yi (Chosŏn) dynasty. The Edward W. Wagner personal archive documents Wagner’s academic and professional career as a teacher, writer, and historian and illuminates his role as an authority on the history and language of Korea.