Photographs and Images
- Digital archive of Seoul photographs 서울 사진 아카이브 This is the online digital archive of Seoul photographs originally taken between 1950’s and 1980’s. There are about 100,000 scanned photo images in this archive, and images are categorized by period and subject. It is available to browse by geographic district - Ku, in a map of Seoul and search by keyword. Bibliographic information is offered and some of the information may include a map which shows the place in the photographs. Downloading and printing images are also available.
- HOLLIS Images Union catalog of visual resources at Harvard, focusing on artistic and cultural materials. Note: All searches for East Asian terms must be entered in romanization.
- Ilbon Chiri P’ungsok Taegye Chosŏn p’yŏn 일본 지리 풍속 대계 – 조선편 사진 콜렉션 The photographs collection of Joseon (Korea) is an archive of about 900 digitized photographs of Joseon, originally printed and published in book format in Tokyo by Seibundō Shinkōsha (新光社) in 1935. The collection mainly contains photographs of geographic information of Korea and life and customs of Korean people from 1910 to 1945. Ilbon Chiri P’ungsok Taegye Chosŏn p’yŏn is available as a 2-volume reprint set in the Harvard-Yenching Library.
- Ilbon Chiri Taegye Chosŏn p’yŏn 일본 지리 대계 – 조선편 사진 콜렉션 The photographs collection of Joseon (Korea) is an archive of about 560 digitized photographs of Joseon, originally printed and published in book format in Tokyo by Kaizōsha (改造社) in 1930. The collection mainly contains photographs of geographic information of Korea and life and customs of Korean people from 1910 to 1945. Ilbon Chiri Taegye Chosŏn p’yŏn is available in the Harvard-Yenching Library.
- Korean scenes from 1952 Digital photographs taken by Prof. David Cole in Korea
- National Museum of Korea 국립중앙박물관 소장 조선총독부박물관 유리건판 This database developed by National Museum of Korea provides digitized photographic plates containing photographs taken and held by Museum of Japanese Government General of Korea during the Japanese colonial period. Digital scanned photographs are arranged by subject and region. Searching and browsing are available and brief bibliographic information is provided. Images can be downloaded as JPG files and catalogues of the collection are also available to download as PDF file format.
- North Korean photographs collection 북한사진 콜렉션 The photographs collection of North Korea is an archive of about 50,000 digitized photographs of North Korea from 1940’s to 2000’s. The photographs are arranged by subjects; education, national ceremonies, international relations, funeral ceremony of Kim Il-sŏng, the Korean war, General Association of Korean Residents in Japan (Ch’ongnyŏn), and so on. The collection is available at the workstation in the Harvard-Yenching Library Korean Collection area in the basement level.
- North Korean Propaganda Poster Collection images Digitized images of the North Korean Propaganda Poster collection at the Harvard-Yenching Library
- Photo postcards collection of Saga Museum 사가박물관 사진엽서 콜렉션 [Modern Joseon picture postcards : 근대 조선 그림엽서 - 사가박물관 소장 한반도 그림엽서 콜렉션] The photo postcards image collection of Saga Museum is an archive of about 3,000 digitized postcards of modern Joseon (Korea) from 1900 to 1945, originally printed and published during the Japanese colonial period. The collection includes postcards of commemoration of the Japanese Government General of Korea, the Chosŏn exhibition, city views, historical sites, Korean customs and people, museums in Korea, and so on.
- Postcards collection of Busan Museum 부산박물관 사진엽서 콜렉션 [The looks of modern Korea from postcards : 사진엽서로 보는 근대 풍경 ] The photo postcards image collection of Busan Museum is an archive of about 3,700 digitized postcards of modern Korea from 1910 to 1945, originally printed during the Japanese colonial period. The collection consists of Korean city views (Seoul, Busan, Pyongyang, etc.), historic sites (palaces, temples, etc.), natural landscape (Kŭmgangsan, etc.), Korean customs and people, and so on. It is also available as 8-volume set in book format at the Korean stacks of the Harvard-Yenching Library.
- North Korean Posters : Private collection of Willem van der Bijl, digitized by Leiden University This digital database consists of scans of over 1,000 printed North Korean posters from the private collection of Willem van der Bijl. The collection contains posters from the time of the Korean War (1950-53) right through to the 2010s.
General Film and Media Resources
- Bibliography of Korean Cinema Information about books, articles, dissertations, and film colloquia materials about Korean cinema.
- Korean Film Council 한국영화진흥위원회 A Korean film database searchable by title, director, year of production, and actors/actresses’ name. Korean Cinema Yearbook andKorean Film Observatory are also available in full text as pdf files.
- Korean Film Council 한국영화진흥위원회 (English) A Korean film database searchable by title, director, year of production, and actors/actresses’ name. Korean Cinema Yearbook andKorean Film Observatory are also available in full text as pdf files.
- Korean Movie Database 한국영화데이터베이스 This comprehensive database provides information about Korean movies from the 1910s to the present. Search and browse by title, keyword, name, and year of production.
- Online Korean films by Korean Film Archive 한국영상자료원 온라인 영화자료 More than 100 Korean films are available on YouTube, by Korean Film Archive. Films are available to view online including movices from 1940s to 1990s, categorized by year and by three famous director names.
- MBC Archive
This link opens in a new window
Please connect VPN first to access this online audiovisual archive database of MBC contents since 1961, including news clips, documentaries, dramas, entertainment contents
Finding Korean Films, Comic Books, and Audio Materials through HOLLIS
The following links search HOLLIS for current Harvard-Yenching holdings films, comic books (manhwa), and audio materials. Please note that it will not retrieve materials purchased by other Harvard libraries.
- All South Korean feature films 한국영화
- Horror 공포
- Action 액션
- Comedies 코미디
- Buddhism-related films 불교
- Animation 애니메이션
- TV Dramas TV드라마
- Documentaries 다큐멘터리
- All North Korean films 북한영화
- Animation 애니메이션
- Documentaries 다큐멘터리
- Comic books 만화 (Manhwa)
- North Korean comic books 북한만화
- Yŏnbyŏn comic books 연변만화
The following links provide a rough guide to Korean films and music held at Widener and Loeb Music libraries respectively.