Skip to Main Content
Korean History On-line 한국역사정보통합시스템
Korean History On-line supports cross-searching 13 Korean history databases: National Institute of Korean History, Kyujanggak, Jongyŏnggak, Munchŏn’gak, the Ministry of Patriots and Veterans Affairs of the Republic of Korea, Independence Hall of Korea, the Korea Democracy Foundation, the War Memorial of Korea, Korean Women’s Development Institute, and the Academy of Korean Studies. Search by keyword, title, author, summary, and publisher.
Korean History Database 한국사데이터베이스
This comprehensive full-text database developed by the National Institute of Korean History(국사편찬위원회) includes publications by the NIHK and important resources during the Chosŏn Dynasty. Newspapers and magazines of modern and contemporary Korea, Korean history time-table (1860-1981), and many more resources about the Korean War and Korean resistance movement during Japanese rule are available. More than 10,000 photographs and images are included along with subject and name index.
E- Kyujanggak 서울대학교 규장각 한국학연구원
Kyujanggak, originally established as the Royal Archives of the Chosŏn Dynasty in 1776. E-Kyujanggak offers more convenient access to digitized collections available either in full-text or as high-definition digital images. Digitized collections include old maps, books, documents, government records of the late Chosŏn dynasty and during Japanese rule, and historic documents of the Chosŏn dynasty such as Ilsŏngrok, Pibyŏnsa Tŭngrok, and Ŭigwe.
Korean Classics Research Institute 한국고전번역원
The Korean Classics Research Institute offers eleven full-text databases, which include more than 1,330 works of Korean classics. Included are Kojŏn Kugyŏk Ch’ongsŏ (고전국역총서), Kugyŏk Sŭngjŏngwŏn Ilgi (국역 승정원일기), Kugyŏk Ilsŏngrok (국역 일성록), Kukhak Wŏnjŏn (국학원전), Han’guk Muniip Ch’onggan (한국문집총간) and Bibliographic information of translated classic (고전번역서 서지정보검색).
DB of Korean Classics 한국고전종합DB
DB of Korean Classics is also useful full-text databases for Korean classics which includes original texts and translations of Korean classics.
Digitized Historical Materials of Changsŏgak (Jangseo-gak) 장서각 디지털 아카이브
A database of digitized collections of Jangsŏgak, the library of the Academy of Korean Studies, which provides a variety of materials including early han'gul novels, the unofficial history of the Chosŏn dynasty and diaries (조선조 야사 및 일기), and audiovisual materials about Korean culture, oral literature (구비문학), folk songs (민요), and dialects (방언).
Northeast Asian History Network 동북아역사넷
A database of full-text collections of books, documents, maps, images, and online courses on Northeast Asian history, created by Northeast Asian History Foundation. Northeast Asian History Foundaton also provides free access to Journal of Northeast Asian History and other Northeast Asian History Foundation publications through their website.
The Database of Genealogies in Korea 朝鮮族譜データベース
Allows searching of bibliographic information and provides scanned images of the Korean genealogies held by the Institute of Oriental Culture of the University of Tokyo. 640 items are available online. Search terms include family name, genealogy title, clan, publication date and request number. Searching is by character. There is an option to browse bibliographic information by han'gul and romanization. The image file index is organized by the request number.
National Museum of Korea 국립중앙박물관 소장 조선총독부박물관 문서
This database developed by National Museum of Korea provides a digitized collection of official documents originally archived by Museum of Japanese Government General of Korea during the Japanese colonial period. Digitized documents are arranged by contents; donation, exhibit, acquisition, excavation and so on. Images are available to download as JPG file format.