Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

History and Literature: A Guide to Research Resources

English and American literary texts

Literature Online (LION)
Primary texts include, among other genres: English poetry from 600 to the present; American and African-American poetry from 1600 to the present; Eighteenth and nineteenth century English fiction; Early American fiction, etc. Secondary sources include the Annual Bibliography of English Language and Literature and the New Princeton Encyclopedia of Poetry and Poetics (see both above); also the King James Bible, Webster's Third International Dictionary, the Routledge Encyclopedia of Post-Colonial Literatures in English, and similar titles, as well as numerous links to other web resources, and biographical information for over 1000 prominent authors.

Alexander Street Literature : Primary Texts in Postcolonial, Black, Gender, and Regional Literatures.
The 13 collections in World Literature Online currently include: Black Short Fiction, Black Women Writers, Caribbean Literature, Latino Literature, Latin American Women Writers, Scottish Women Poets of the Romantic Period, Irish Women Poets of the Romantic Period, South and Southeast Asian Literature in English, Black Drama, Twentieth Century North American Drama, North American Indian Drama, North American Women’s Drama, and Asian American Drama.

Early English Books Online (EEBO)
Facsimiles of the complete texts of over 100,000 books listed in the Short-Title Catalogues (STC) of Books Printed in Great Britain, British America, and of English Books Printed in Other Countries from 1475-1700. (Pollard & Redgrave and Wing). Virtually the entire body of work published in English before 1700.

Eighteenth Century Collections Online (ECCO)
Provides full text searching of over 33 million original page images from over 150,000 books, described by the database publisher as "in essence, every significant English-language and foreign-language title printed in the United Kingdom, along with thousands of important works from the Americas."

Slavery, Abolition, and Social Justice, 1490-2007
A"portal for slavery and abolition studies, bringing together documents and collections covering an extensive time period 1490-2007, from libraries and archives across the Atlantic world. Close attention is being given to the varieties of slavery, the legacy of slavery, the social justice perspective and the continued existence of slavery today."

Defining Gender: 1450 - 1910
A collection of books and pamphlets advising women, men, and children on etiquette, accomplishments, and behavior conducive to worldly success.

Everyday Life and Women in America, ca.1800-1920
Provides primary source material for the study of nineteenth and early twentieth century American cultural and social history.

Early American Imprints, Series 1 (1639-1800)
Books, pamphlets and broadsides issued in America from 1639 to 1800, recorded in Charles Evans' American Bibliography, which, although somewhat incomplete, attempted to be a comprehensive catalog of American publishing. Includes material on virtually every aspect of life in 17th- and 18th-century America.

Nineteenth Century Short Title Catalog (NSTC)
Not full text, but provides citations and major research library holdings data on all print materials published in the United States and the British Empire from 1801 to 1919, all books in English, wherever published, during that same time, as well as translations from English.